We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moldy Room, Horrible Linens” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express South Boston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express South Boston
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1074 Bill Tuck Highway, Highway 58 East, South Boston, VA 24592   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Moldy Room, Horrible Linens”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Any positive reviews of this hotel must be fake, because it was the worst hotel room I have ever stayed in. I walked in the room and my first impression was that it smelled bad. I realized the next morning that smell was mold--it was growing on the side of the TV armoire. The room was dingy, the bathroom was worse, and the sheets were ancient and pilling--very uncomfortable. I will never stay here again and wish I checked Trip Advisor before making a reservation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    4
    5
    13
See reviews for
9
8
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clover, Virginia, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

this holiday inn express is the best one i ever stayed at! i will be definetley be staying there again the next time im in town. the prices are great staff is friendly and the service is wonderful . the breakfast is like a 4star resturuant.

Room Tip: any room it is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kareem B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Boston, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Jessica N ,

Thank you so much for sharing your good experience that you had when you stayed with us, that makes us work even harder to make everybody's stay more enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I paid $114 for one night stay at this location on 6/20. Figured since it was a Holiday Inn, it would be decent. I was wrong. The room just looked old and shabby. The linens were nice, but the room itself was disgusting. I went into the room and put drinks for work the next day in the refrigerator. Took them out in the morning- same temperature as they were when I put them in. It didn't work. The lights wouldn't turn on when I went to turn them on, so I pulled out the nightstand- there was a dead bug and a used, bent Q-tip behind it. Disgusting. The AC didn't work well, the bathroom was dingy, the toilet ran all night long, and to top it off, I requested a 5:45 am wake up call that wasn't delivered until 6 am. I should have just driven the extra 30 mins to get where I was going...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Boston, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear KristinRN78,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the unacceptable service and room accommodations you received. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We work very hard to be the best hotel around that provides world class excellence. For that reason, I will make sure your comments will be looked into. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your experience during your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside hts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights after a busy week , hotel was very clean , friendly staff and good breakfast , i had the presidents suite on the 1st floor which had two rooms that were extremly comfortable . The front desk service was absolutely wonderful specialy the manager over there he is well trained and responsible person we had a problem with the next door customers they were making too much noise we called the front desk and we talked to "kimo" he saw how incredibly upset i was and quickly stepped into action!!! And he apologized to us as it was his fault and change us to another presidents suite , he didnt panic and he went out of his way to be nice to me and my wife. If u are comming to holiday inn express in south boston and u have any issues just say the magic word " kimoooooooooooooo " and he will be infront of u to deal with the issue . "kimo" thank u very much and we will always be in contact with u also i must let u know that we are coming back in july with all of our family members be ready for us ..........

Room Tip: Ask for kimo before u check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kareem B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Boston, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear satisfied guest,

Our staff are very happy to see their efforts result in a great experience for you. Thank you for sharing your experience about our excellent hotel and we look forward to your visit with your whole family on your next visit. It was our pleasure to have you be our guest!

Glad you had a safe journey home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingspor
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I travel frequently and Corporate has preferred hotels for us to stay at. From the outside the hotel looks OK. The common areas - look fair and have the newer Holiday Inn Express appearance. The rooms on the other hand are AWFUL. The decor is outdated and even worse the rooms are dirty and dingy. The towels and floor mat in the bathroom were torn and had holes. My shoes stuck to the floor in the bathroom and I won't even bother to describe the carpet beyond dark and stainned.

The heat \ AC unit groaned all night and rattled the window above. The refrigerator also made so much noise that I just unplugged it and replugged it when I left.

The gap around the door and no closer was also a safety concern.

Avoid this place. There is a brand new Fairfield down the road - when I come back to the area that's where I plan on staying

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Boston, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear J G,

Thank you for your most recent stay with us.
I am sorry that we fell below your expectaions.
We are hospitality proffesionals and strive to be the best.
I hope you have a chance to stay with us again.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Well priced accommodation with comfortable rooms. Only a short train ride to Boston City. included breakfast adequate and consistent fro Holiday Inn standards. Short walk to shopping and selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kareem B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Boston, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear satisfied guest,

Our staff are very happy to see their efforts result in a great experience for you. Thank you for sharing your experience about our excellent hotel and we look forward to your visit with your whole family on your next visit. It was our pleasure to have you be our guest!

Glad you had a safe journey home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

1) This is not a Holiday Inn Express. This is an old raggedy Holiday Inn with "Holiday Inn Express" stickers stuck over the old Holiday Inn insignias, including the door room numbers. Pathetic.

2) When I checked in, the receptionist did not remove his iPod buds throughout the checkin process. Really? I mean, really?

3) There are holes in the walls that have been basically taped back shut, uneven floors, and stained carpeting.

4) The wireless internet, which is not even password protected, is glacially slow. GLACIAL. Totally unacceptable in 2012.

5) Toilet phantom flushes. There are holes in the wall in the bathroom. No joke.

All of this is true in their "presidential suite." I'd hate to think what the regular folk are renting, y'know? Eek.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Boston

Address: 1074 Bill Tuck Highway, Highway 58 East, South Boston, VA 24592
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > South Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express South Boston Hotel is a 3 star hotel located in the heart of South Boston, Virginia. We are convenient to all area restaurants, shopping, and the Halifax County Industrial Park. We are also 2 miles from South Boston Speedway and only 25 miles from VIR. If you're ready for quality service at an affordable price, STAY SMART, stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Boston Hotel South Boston
Holiday Inn South Boston
South Boston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.