We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“many great dinners at Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 1888

Bistro 1888
221 Main Street, South Boston, VA 24592-4625
434-572-1888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in South Boston
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“many great dinners at Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Amazing! South Boston is lucky to have an incredible restaurant like this. I have ever had a bad meal. Always delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Top Quality in Small Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I went with a co-worker after reading the reviews and had to see for myself if this was legit.

I had a deep fried scallop for appetizer and then the spectacular special item chicken saltimbocca which is hard to find elsewhere but was prepared very nicely and was delicious. I also had a side caesar salad, which was small and had hardly any dressing on it. I asked for extra dressing but overall was average in comparison to the rest of the meal.

I heard about the dessert so I had to get the chocolate decadence which was excellent as expected.

Chef Margaret was excellent and service top notch as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Boston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expect the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Excellent food. And it is consistently good. You will enjoy every item on the menu. The staff is professional, helpful and friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Can't Miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Always a fabulous experience at the Bistro. It's a gem of a place in small town South Boston. Although restaurant was packed on a Tuesday night, our group didn't have much trouble with getting food and drinks. Can't say enough great things about the food quality, selection, and southern hospitality! Well Done!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Boston, VA
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We come to Bistro 1888 at least once a week and we have rarely had a meal that was as good at another place. Wine list is wonderful. The menu is very diverse and can meet any bodies desires. The specials are always good. Everything is good. Never a disappointment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 1888 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 1888? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 1888, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.