We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a long lost friend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 1888

Bistro 1888
221 Main Street, South Boston, VA 24592-4625
+1 434-572-1888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in South Boston
Price range: $15 - $24
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Virginia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Like a long lost friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have been to this restaurant about 6 times now and I can't wait to go back! This is definitely one of my favorite restaurants in southside Virginia, and maybe in Virginia period.

The service is impeccable, the selections are very creative and also prepared to perfection. If you're anywhere near South Boston or driving through on US-58, you MUST get dinner here.

It's a small town so reservations are seldom needed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    15
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roxboro, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A+ Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Bistro 1888 is superb. Everything on the menu is excellent. They serve only grass fed beef and fresh veggies. Great beers and excellent wines. It is truly a dining experience. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great at times--not so at others”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have eaten here several times and some times it's a memorable great meal and other times it is a disaster. Food usually is good though they don't change their menu so it's always the same picks. So, it's a bit of a crap shoot on what you'll get. I would give it a try because on a good day the food is wonderful though a bit pricey for the area and too expensive to have a bad experience. Good luck.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Culinary delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Coq au vin and Fresh North Atlantic Flounder were our menu choices for this special evening at Bistro 1888. My husband enjoyed his chicken cooked with wine and served with "the best mashed potatoes I've ever had" and I, the veteran seafood lover, ordered the flounder. I have never tasted such exquisite flounder in my life! The presentation was attractive and enticing while the delicate sauce, including hazelnuts, was perfection. Add an appetizer of grilled chipotle shrimp which we shared and a dessert of winter pear-topped creme brulee, and this was an evening of culinary delights.

Bistro 1888 has a wonderful wine selection and offers both standard menu items and seasonal specialties like the ones we ordered, allowing most anyone to find a delicacy of their liking. Defintely recommended for special occasions. Be sure to call for reservations, even mid-week.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ash, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a treat! Beautiful, intimate setting. The staff was friendly and the food....not only was it beautifully presented, it was amazing!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 1888 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 1888? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 1888, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.