We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Smithfield Station to your Saves list
Smithfield Station
415 S. Church St., P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
GreenLeadersGold level
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My fiance` and I spent 3 wonderful nights at the Smithfield Station. This is definitely a one-of-a-kind boutique property. We were fortunate enough to stay in both the Captain Todd and the Captain Sinclair Lighthouse suites. They were both absolutely gorgeous. The attention given to the smallest details show that the Pack family takes great pride in what they have accomplished at The Station.

As a someone with 16 years in the hotel business myself, I am extremely picky and tend to over scrutinize hotel rooms. These rooms were extremely clean and well appointed. (yes, I ran my finger over the tops of picture frames etc. looking for dust bunnies - there were none)The linens on the beds were high thread count and a nice quality. The towels for the bathrooms were large, thick and super soft. Even the King size murphy-bed in the lower lighthouse suite was comfortable and kind to my back. I had the chance to speak to a few of the employees while there and they were very kind and helpful. The only negative I can mention is that parking can sometimes be a bit hectic, especially during the evening dinner hours. They have an award winning restaurant on-site (must try the crabcakes!) so the parking area closest to the main entrance fills up for a few hours, but they do have an overflow lot just across the street. Just park over there and then once the dinner rush is over you can move your vehicle closer to your room if you desire.

All in all, if you are looking for a unique and romantic experience, then the Smithfield Station is the perfect choice. Luxurious accommodations on the scenic Pagan River nestled amongst the historic mansions of Colonial Smithfield Virginia; This is where memories begin!

Kind regards
T.Spencer

Room Tip: Stay in either of the Lighthouse suites for more privacy and a one of a kind experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your glowing comments about our property. We do so appreciate guests that realize our attention to the details. Our Lighthouse Suites are very unique and we love to get feedback on guests stay. It sounds like you had a great time and we do so hope you will come back soon and enjoy our hotel and restaurant. Once again Thank You so much for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    55
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
174
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have NEVER written a review before, however our experience is worth my time to do so!

Our only complaint is we weren't there long enough! A beautiful place right on the water, with tastefully decorated accommodations! We arrived at approx. 8pm on a Friday and due to a family emergency we had to depart at 5am Saturday morning and missed the Smithfield ham and rolls for breakfast (we were very much looking forward to that)! At 8:30pm we were seated at the restaurant (get reservations, especially in the summer months) which too was beautifully decorated, and very laid back/comfortable! We both ordered a bowl of the crab soup and the seafood platter. The crab soup was delicious, however we should have either ordered just a cup, or the half portion of the platter.....large portions, which I'm NOT complaining about! I have eaten crab cakes all around the world, and NEVER have I found one tastes as amazing as the one at Smithfield Station! All of the seafood was fresh tasting, cooked to perfection and like I previously stated, an abundant amount of food! My best friend order the Pussers PainKiller, which reminded me of years ago sitting on Pusser's Porch in the Bahamas....delicious!

We stayed in the Marina Cottage. I was a little leery of the queen bed, but reserved it for the "cottage" experience, it was PERFECT! The cottage was quint, beautifully decorated and quite large! The bathroom even had a jetted tub. You walk right out and within steps are at the dock or a few more steps you are at the pool! The owners are sitting on a gorgeous stretch of waterfront property and their attention to detail proves they are treating this gem as a true gift. The dock is well lit at night which provided us a sense of security as we walked the span of the long dock.

Living directly on the Chesapeake Bay we often times take for granted the beauty of where we live. Smithfield Station and the beautiful serene reminded me just how thankful we are to live in such a wonderful place. I would recommend Smithfield Station to all....no matter the gender, race, individual, couples, families, etc.... You can get lost in the picturesque views!

I have NEVER written a review for any other establishment before in my life! Due to numerous neck surgeries for me and back surgeries for my bestfriend, we have to be selective in the types of hotels chosen to insure comfy beds. We both typically stay in 4-5 star locations, which 5star is what Smithfield Station is to us!

Thank you Smithfield Station for your hospitality and our comfortable night stay! We only wish we didn't have to depart so many hours in advance and had to miss the morning and daytime amenities!!!!

Green Features: Everyone we encountered was courteous and went out of their way to provide exceptional service!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel and restaurant. For someone who has never written a review before I must say it was just about PERFECT!!! We do so enjoy feedback form our guests. I think from your review that we impressed you and we are so delighted that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Sorry you did not get to stay longer but of course you are welcome back anytime. I am glad you found the Marina Cottage to be as comfortable as you described. We designed it to be a "different" hotel experience. Thank you for your kind words about our property. We do treasure our waterfront and it was nice of you comment about it. Once again we appreciate your kind review and please come back again soon. We will have those Smithfield Ham rolls waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I would highly recommend Smithfield Station and can't wait to return. The view from our corner room was spectacular with a cross breeze and a fantastic view of the marina and beautiful Pagan River. The staff was unbelievable, the food delectable and the accommodations were perfect. We happened to visit during a town celebration and raft race which was like a reunion for the town. We had no idea of the history of Smithfield, so that demands a return visit. Thank you to the Pack family and your wonderful "second" family!

Room Tip: We stayed in the original building which has no elevator which we knew ahead of time, so we packed l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so much KathyR for your wonderful review of our hotel and restaurant. You surely did pick a great weekend to join us. Our town looks forward to Olden Days every year and it sounds like you enjoyed all the festivities. . We are so glad you did. Please do come back to see us and explore the town and all it has to offer soon We look forward to seeing you again and appreciate your kind comments about your stay with us. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had the privilege of staying in the Lighthouse at Smithfield Station last weekend and hosting a party in the Private Dining Room and adjoining deck....WOW! The entire experience from start to finish was divine! Upon check-in, we hightailed it to the intimate pool for some sun and fun before the party....and then spent a little time in our suite in the Lighthouse--what an amazing accommodation! We had the bottom floor which is set up like a Living Suite with a pull out Murphy Bed (which by the way was one of the most comfortable beds I've EVER slept on!), built-in kitchen and beautifully appointed bath...and a view to die for! What a joy to get ready in a room like that! The party itself was handled beautifully and with a warm professionalism that truly impressed both us and our guests. The food was fantastic, the bar service superb and the service was exceptional. Several of our guests also stayed at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed their experiences as well. The next day featured the Station's delicious brunch with an omlet and waffle bar to die for!

The hospitality that we enjoyed at Smithfield Station was top-notch! Thank you for an AMAZING weekend and birthday that we will never forget!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the lovely Lighthouse!
See more room tips
Green Features: Great green property...and that does matter to us!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you Thank You Thank You TourPro757 for your wonderful comments about your stay with us at The Smithfield Station. What a special way to celebrate "both" birthdays". How cool is that !!!! You surely did choose our best and most unique suite for your celebration.. The Lighthouse truly does have awesome views and has everything you need for a special night, so conveniently located to the pool and our restaurant. We are delighted that you had a great time with good food, good service and great friends. What a wonderful birthday present to you both!!!! Thank you again for staying with us and please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Although the hotel is not the most modern, it has everything you need. Awesome view of the marina. The restaurant staff was as friendly as they come. Really enjoyed staying here and exploring the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you KellyR for your review of The Smithfield Station. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to hear that our staff made you feel right at home. Our guests are very important to us and we try to give you the best possible service . Please visit us again soon and perhaps try a room in our new Lodge. It too has great views of the river. Thank you once again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We visit Smithfield Station by boat with 30 of our best friends very year. No my boat isn't a large yacht. All of us come in our Grady White boats. We have a relaxing, laid-back weekend. Smithfield Station is first class in accommodations, food, dockage, and hospitality. We like the boardwalk cabins and we have stayed in the lodge too. Both provide a comfortable ammentiies filled place to stay. The food is first class as is the service. We'll be back next June.

Room Tip: Lodge or Boardwalk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We just love having your club come and visit with us each year. You all feel like family. We always look forward to our Grady White boaters filling the Marina with great people. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your wonderful comments about your experience at The Smithfield Station. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

From the time we arrived at the very well appointed Smithfield Station Inn, we received excellent service in a super friendly environment. Special thanks to Beth, who welcomed us and to Holly who served our delicious anniversary dinner. Our 3rd floor room overlooking the Pagan River was lovely and comfortable in every way possible. The "continental breakfast" was much more than expected - made-to-order omelets were deliciously prepared by yet another super employee. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you Kathleen D for your feedback on your stay with us. It is always great to hear that we are doing our jobs well. We always strive to make our guests feel welcome and give the best possible customer service. We appreciate you letting us know that we were successful in making you feel right at home. We certainly hope you will visit us again soon and once again we appreciate you sharing your comments about your experience at The Smithfield Station. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Address: 415 S. Church St., P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithfield Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.