We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding - 3rd floor room - very clean, beds comfy, view of inlet from window...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smithfield Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Smithfield Station to your Saves list
Smithfield Station
415 S. Church St., P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding - 3rd floor room - very clean, beds comfy, view of inlet from window...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed over night at Smithfield Station after leaving a wedding at Smithfield Center. 15 rooms were reserved by wedding attendees between the 2nd and 3rd floors. We were told that there would be no problem gathering in the sitting area(s) after the wedding and socializing. However, a little over an hour after we left the wedding, we were told that we were disturbing others on the floor and asked to move into our rooms. That was a very big disappointment especially after paying a steep price to stay overnight.

The morning breakfast was very enjoyable. The Hatteras Clam chowder was not even luke warm and had to be returned and reheated. After that it was very good.

As far as the room we were in, it was clean and the 2 beds were very comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the Pagan River inlet from our window.

Unless it was for another special event, I would stay the night at the Hampton Inn instead, It is only a few miles away and is half the price and clean with comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Unless it was for another special event, I would stay the night at the Hampton Inn instead, It is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    55
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
21
176
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, MD
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Found a deal at this property through Travelzoo and made reservations for the long weekend in February. Good sized rooms, nicely decorated, loved having the in-room Starbucks coffee and the faux fireplace was a nice touch too ! I cannot say enough as to how CLEAN everything was in our room. A pleasant and quiet stay for the weekend and nice Sunday brunch at the restaurant with good food and great service. Would definitely recommend Smithfield Station and the town of Smithfield as a wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at Smithfield Station. Our dedicated staff takes pride in making every guest experience delightful. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Smithfield station for valentines weekend. We had one of the poolside cabins right in front of the water. It was a beautiful view and very cozy inside. The bathroom was large and the full size fridge and kitchen area was convenient.

Our only complaint was the food at the restaurant. The prices were very high considering the quality of the food. For a place that charges $30 for a piece of salmon, I was surprised to see the hostess wearing flip flops! The cheese on my salad tasted like refrigerator, the the ribs I got tasted very old. Like they had been prepared a day or two before and reheated. I was even curious if they are prepared fresh at all on premises or purchased pre-cooked and sauce is thrown on before serving?? My meal ended up being comp'ed and the bill was still $40. Needless to say, we avoided the restaurant for the remainder of our time there.
Smithfield is very small and it's very slim pickings for very nice dining. It's too bad the restaurant food quality is not worth the cost.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Smithfield Station. My family and I value your feedback and use constructive criticism to improve the guest experience because our goal is that every guest is nothing less than delighted. The items you cited that have opportunities for improvement have been shared with our team and will be appropriately addressed.
On behalf of my family and our dedicated staff, thank you again for your visit and your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Smithfield Station soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The staff made our arrival at Smithfield Station a very pleasant one and our stay here was an all around great experience. The location was ideal for the event we were attending and very picturesque, it was also great to have an excellent restaurant for steak and seafood on site. We are looking forward to returning for our stay in the lighthouse for Valentine's Day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. I am glad our staff made you feel welcome We try very hard to make each guest have the most pleasant experience possible. It sounds like you had a great time and we hope you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My boyfriend and i spent a long weekend together at Smithfield Station in August 2013. From the pictures and reviews online i based my decision on booking the trip. When we arrived and saw the magnificent building for the first time i was happy that the pictures matched exactly. We arrived early and they were able to show us to our room immediately! They give you actual keys for the room which i think is so unique and adorable. The room was simply AMAZING the walk in shower was just one of the magnificent accommodations next to the electric fireplace, huge bathroom vanity and mirror, large (DIRECTV) screen television, and private balcony! The bed was 110% comfortable and the people were a pleasure to deal with. We enjoyed the shops around the station and enjoyed a delicious dinner at their restaurant. I got shrimp and steak and my boyfriend got ribs and everything was so good! The pool is close and relaxing and the view of the lake at night is gorgeous. I was definitely sad to leave and would return in a second. Thank you Smithfield Station!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property. Smithfield Station was designed for a great romantic getaway and I t sounds like you and your boyfriend had a wonderful time. We do so appreciate your review of our hotel and restaurant and hope you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were in town (from Texas) to visit relatives and see the annual Christmas Parade. This is our second stay at Smithfield Station and this stay exceeded the first in 2009. I absolutely love the view of the Pagan River from our room. The outstanding Windsor Castle Park trails are right across the street and worth your time. The hotel restaurant bar is a fun place to hangout and downtown Smithfield is an easy walk away. The beds are exceptionally comfortable and the bathrooms are huge with lots of storage. So happy this property is in Smithfield.

Room Tip: If you stay in winter you might want a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We are so happy that you stay with us when coming to Smithfield. We so enjoy our repeat guests and it appears that as a frequent guest you enjoy all things that our hotel, restaurant and town has to offer. You are so right. The views of the Pagan River can't be beat anytime of the year. We thank you for your great reviews of our property and hope you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I decided to do something a bit different to bring in the new year. We booked a room at Smithfield In through a Group On deal. The deal included a deluxe room, bottle of champagne and free buffet breakfast. After strolling through downtown Smithfield, we checked in to find a spacious room with a balcony overlooking the Pagan River. The room included an electric fireplace (nice touch!), large bathroom with walk in shower, comfortable king bed and nice high def TV.

The property also has several gift stores and a cup cake/ice cream parlor.

Fortunately, I made dinner reservations at their restaurant which ended up being packed with a line waiting for tables. The service and food was good, but the wait staff was obviously harried with the large crowd.

The next morning we returned to the restaurant for a buffet breakfast of scrambled eggs, sausage, Smithfield Ham biscuits, waffles and other options. After checking out, we went right across the street for a short hike in Windsor Castle Park. This new park is on property that was granted to Arthur Smith in 1637 (yes, his family is the name sake of the town).

This is a great getaway location. Make sure you visit the Smithfield Ham store in town or Edwards Ham store just outside of town. You may also want to catch the ferry from Surry to Jamestown. It is a beautiful ride across the James River.

This is also a great destination for people traveling by boat. It is a short boat ride from Norfolk, Hampton or Newport News Va. They have a very nice marina on the property.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a view of the river. For a really special experience, you may want to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Guest Relations Manager at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your stay with us at The Smithfield Station. What a wonderful way to ring in the New Year! It sounds like you and your wife experienced all the unique things Smithfield and the surrounding area has to offer. We are so glad that we were part of your celebration and we look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Address: 415 S. Church St., P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithfield Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.