We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Setting but . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smithfield Station

Save Saved
You added Smithfield Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Smithfield Station
415 S. Church St., P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Smithfield
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Service, Setting but . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

. . . the hotel room (in the original wing) needs work, or at least a good cleaning. The tub in my bathroom was either dirty or badly stained. The room was adequate but sparse.

Despite this, I like the unique setting, the warm family management and I know I will return (and book a better room).

Room Tip: Book a room in the newer wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi Steven P and thanks for the review! We really appreciate your comments and realize that the third floor waterfront rooms are in deed in need of some freshening up. That is scheduled to be done starting in January so when next spring rolls around, they will be beautiful again like the rest of the property. Thanks for the honesty and we glad you enjoyed your stay. See you soon.

Sincerely,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    48
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
156
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hampton roads, va
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We live close by and only stayed at this hotel for one night with a Living Social deal. It's on the water and has a nice view from the balcony and an outdoor seating area. Check in was smooth and the room was great, very spacious. We loved the balcony and the bed was cushy & comfortable. The bathroom was amazing with a huge shower. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Smooth and sweet .... a new slogan perhaps! Thanks for the great review and for staying with us! We would love to have you back.

Sincerely,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I purchased a overnight stay from Groupon (at a discounted price) even though the original prices were well worth the stay. This beautiful place is a conglamorate of quaint shops, a mini-marina, a superb restaurant and lovely spacious rooms. All of this is family owned operated and maintained. We were greeted by the owner Mr Pack and his "SWEET" antique car. He was very nice and approachable. We went in our room and were stunned by a huge king sized bed accompanied by chocolate covered strawberries and champagne. All of the rooms have a comfortable balcony smack dab on the pagan river just over the marina. We sat there and enjoyed the sunset of a wonderful day. Our front desk associate "Donna" made reservations at the smithfield station restaurant. The food was superb and the hospitality of our waitress "Katrina" was sweet. The next day we ate a yummy complimentary breakfast. Then we went swimming in the pool. Next we went shopping at one of the shops adjoined called "Girl This", and had a great ice cream and cake the ice cream shop called Jeff's "Sir cakes a lot" so you see this is a great place to stay and do everything in one shot. Also, while your in the area check out downtown smithtown.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for the kind words Philvz! I always appreciate my staff being recognized by name and they get a nice little reward for excellent service as well! Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we welcome you back anytime.

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After all these years in Virginia we finally took the time to visit this charming town and stay at this wonderful property for 2 nights last weekend. Our room was spacious and had lovely cherry furnishings, pretty linens and was a comfortable sleep. The view was terrific and we were able to relax and enjoy a lovely dinner in the restaurant also.
"Main Street" offered lovely shops to visit and the Isle of Wight Museum was a great place to get information. On the way there and back to Richmond we visited other historic venues and simply had a pleasant trip on a holiday weekend with no traffic as we traveled the scenic route.
Highly recommend this gem of a town and property if you are seeking peace and quiet, a water view and some good eating.

Room Tip: We stayed in the inn section, nice rooms and very quiet. Great views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Good evening lakemates and thanks for the glowing review! I am so happy that you were able to join us on one of the last weekends of summer and visit this charming southern town. The scenic route (Route 10 East) is absolutely beautiful and, as stated, traffic free from Richmond! We are always happy to host folks that are looking for a relaxing getaway.

Thanks again,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I recently stayed at Smithfield Station after buying a deal on Travelzoo. It included champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, what's not to like about that? The resort is lovely, the staff was nice.We were given a beautifully appointed room off by ourselves,with a lovely view. The bathroom was beautiful and the bed was so nice you don't want to leave.We did have to make an appearance for breakfast a little earlier than I would have liked,but it was worth it! I would definitely recommend Smithfield Station for a romantic relaxing evening.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look farward to a rapid return!

Yours in Hospitality,

Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Checked in with our best friends for a couple only night...kids at home with sitter. We drove from Yorktown to Smithfield in well under an hour. Pulled up to the resort/hotel and checked in was pretty good. Nice lobby with the sweetest little row boat front and center. Check in and to our delight found the most beautiful waterfront room with little terrance to view the river. In our room was champs and chocolate cover strawberries. We enjoyed all the extras and then went to the restaurant for appys. Sat outside and enjoyed the view and our food. Went back to relax and change and back to the same table for dinner. We had the most amazing food!!! Oysters Rockerfeller to die for...crap dip...sprimp..steaks...We had it all and it was all so great! We had a blast with the staff...sitting out there and enjoying the great wine, food and company with an awesome sunset...doesnt get much better! Quiet cooling breeze and the river just below..was picture prefect...we will be back.
Smithfield Station is one heck of a secret....Go and you wont be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask to see the lighthouse..we did ask to see the rooms after we checked in and in the future will bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Not sure how to respond to this, but for heaven’s sake if you enjoyed it this much please tell all your friends! Thank you for the kind words and visiting with us. We are very proud of our hotel, restaurant and marina and kind words are what make it all worthwhile.

Thanks again,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wonderful place for couples wanting to get away to spend some down time together. It was lovely. A nice boardwalk to stroll with nice shops.
We also enjoyed a nice dinner in the restaurant. Good service and good food. It was nice being able to walk from our room to the shops and to the restaurant. We were also in driving distance of Historical Smithfield.
Our time was peaceful. We will be back.

Room Tip: My husband looked online to see the different rooms to choose from. The back of our room faced the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpack76, Owner at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Perfectly put ... we are a lot of things to a lot of people but the way you described was just perfect. Thanks so much for the review.

Yours in Hospitality,
Randy Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Station

Address: 415 S. Church St., P.O. Box 486, Smithfield, VA 23430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Smithfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Smithfield Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithfield Station Hotel Smithfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithfield Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.