We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Smithfield Station

The Restaurant at Smithfield Station
415 S. Church St., Smithfield, VA 23430
+1 757-357-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Smithfield
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The award-winning Restaurant at Smithfield Station is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner and offers a variety of fine cuisine. Renowned for an extensive menu that places an emphasis on Fresh Local Seafood that combines the flair of legendary Smithfield Ham into many of their dishes. Beautiful Water Views, Reservations Recommended.The Smithfield Station IBX Bar & Grill is also located next door and offers the same great view, but with a more casual setting and great bar specials.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had dinner outside and the bugs were terrible. We started with oyster rockefeller and the smithfield ham croquettes. The oysters were okay at best, the ham croquettes were very nasty. We both took one bite and were done. The waitress asked us if we liked them, we told her we didn't care for them at all so they took them off of our tab. We both for dinner ordered the seafood platter for dinner, broiled. Both of us right away commented on the fact that our food was cold. The portions were very small considering the price of the dish, and the food was very bland. I definatley wouldn't recommend dinning here. The only good thing we can honestly say was that our waitress was really sweet.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P, Owner at The Restaurant at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dawn,
I am sorry to hear of your most recent experience here at the station. Out of every weekend I have been seating the deck this year, this was the one that the gnats came out! I agree. As to the other issues you experienced I will make sure I bring them up to my staff and make the neccessary improvements for Smithfield Station to live up to our repoutation and our price point.
If you come back in the future please reach out to me. I would love the opportunity to show you how we normally do business.

Brian Pack
Smithfield Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    55
    23
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherman, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Part of a "Groupon" package! and a repeat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We saved our groupon dinner package for the last night. The Lobster was wonderful as were the Soft Shell Crabs! Good drinks and the total evening was excellant. Another repeat!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P, Owner at The Restaurant at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Ralph,

Thanks taking the time to leave such nice feedback about the Station! We look forward to hearing more from you in the future. Thanks again. Brian Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Pretty place good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This restaurant is very good and sometimes has specials in the winter. We eat there and are very happy with the menu. Sundays are brunches that are very good with a chef that prepares eggs etc for you. Lunches at the bar are good price and burgers are great! Right on the pagan river wilth a marina. Inside is all cedar and windows overlooking the river. Love this place and shops there also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P, Owner at The Restaurant at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for the great review. Its always nice to hear positive feed back from the locals! Look for all new winter specials starting Jan 1 and I wanted to mention we do $5 cheese burgers in the lounge area every Monday night. Hope to see you again soon. Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
“Quality Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Happy hour food was very good. Chicken wings and fried shrimp. Lunch was wonderful as well. The only complain would be the price of a coke. $2.50 for a small to go cup.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P, Owner at The Restaurant at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave some nice feed back for the Station. Our happy hour specials have been a really hit for our guests and we will continue to keep it up. We apreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you again soon. Ask for me so I can give you a refill on that Coke! Thanks again. Brian Pack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“top of the line experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Station and dined in their restaurant - both of which were great experiences. There are intriguing little shops as well

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P, Owner at The Restaurant at Smithfield Station, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Cecile,

Thanks for the great review. We work hard as a family to keep our business up to our standards and reviews such as yours makes it all worth while. I will pass this along to our shop owners as well.

Thanks again.

Brian Pack
Vice President
Smithfield Station
757-357-7700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Smithfield Station also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Smithfield Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Smithfield Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.