We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful off-the-beaten path gourmet--perfect for Sunday Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smithfield Gourmet Bakery and Cafe

Smithfield Gourmet Bakery and Cafe
220 Main Street, Smithfield, VA 23430
757-357-0045
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 31 Restaurants in Smithfield
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Wonderful off-the-beaten path gourmet--perfect for Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

You wouldn't think you'd find true gourmet in Smithfield, VA, but indeed you can. The only thing missing was a bloody mary, but I don't think they have a liquor license. Otherwise, it was spot on and the combination of flavors in their frittatta was wonderful. The breads are fantastic as well. Portions aren't excessive, but filling and very well-prepared. The desserts are clearly their specialty and are simply sinful. If you find yourself out this way and looking for well-prepared cuisine, you can't go wrong here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    3
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice Little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat lunch in the historic section of Smithfield, VA. Its not a large establishment, but we decided to try it, seems at the time we went there were customers waiting for a table. Not a large selection of items, but the meal was good, we though the sandwiches were a little pricey and we passed on getting deserts, the cost of the deserts was high compared to the other local restaurants we had visited on other occasions. Service was friendly and prompt.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

You wouldn't think that this unpretentious cafe would be such a culinary delight but last Friday during our weekend visit to Smithfield we made a delightful discovery!
Apparently a lot of folks in the town itself are not aware either so I am spreading the word. What a delicious meal I had the RIBS were the absolute BEST I have had in years and cooked in Hoisin Sauce just the right amoune of spices with mashed potatoes and zuchini. Perfection!!! My husband wasn't as hungry as I (or so he thought), so he ordered the Brunswick Stew which was also delicious, but he sure did enjo some of my ribs as well!
No room for dessert but they sure do have delicious looking pastries and breads which we will try on our next visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent is not the word”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We go there regularly, and we love it. Everything is fresh, from the farm and made with passion. Coffee is good. for small town it is the best cafe ever

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

After a great trip to architectural wonder Bacon's Castle a fifteen minute drive into Smithfield is rewarded by a lunch at the Gourmet Bakery and Café. Friendly service yielded, perhaps, the best fried chicken wrap I've ever eaten along with far-to-many delicious homemade French fries. The desserts looked incredible (homemade bread pudding) but after the wrap and fries there was no room left! Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithfield Gourmet Bakery and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Smithfield Gourmet Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithfield Gourmet Bakery and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.