We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chester Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scottsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chester Bed & Breakfast
243 James River Road, Scottsville, VA 24590   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Scottsville B&B and Inns
Adams, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Chester B&B for my 40th birthday. I had never stayed at a b&b before because I like my privacy and felt I would get my ear talked off by any b&b owners... well it was not like that at all... these owners were fantastic. They were very attentive but not intrusive. Breakfast and Dinner were awesome! The house was very clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for wine tastings and I felt very comfortable. I would highly recommend this b&b!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

My wife and I are in our late twenties and came down to Charlottesville for a mini vacation to check out the local wineries and Monticello. There are several B&B's in the area but we ended up choosing Chester based on the good reviews and we were very glad that we did. The house and grounds are peaceful, refreshing, and beautiful. Craig and Jean were extremely open, hospitable, and considerate. We felt they struck the perfect balance, at times engaging us with fun easy conversation and at times allowing us our privacy. Chester was very well located to suit our entertainment needs as well. It is a few miles outside of Charlottesville, which we found to be a very scenic and pleasant drive, and is very close to several nice wineries. One of the most important things to me about a B&B is of course the breakfast and on that score, the Strattons really delivered. Both mornings saw gourmet meals that included among other things, fresh squeezed orange juice, French press coffee, excellent scrambled eggs with chives, crispy bacon, (that was the aroma that we woke up to,) and perhaps the finest French toast we have ever eaten. In short, if you are looking for a great B&B in the Charlottesville area, we strongly recommend Chester.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We spent a weekend here for our anniversary, and our hosts were charming and welcoming. I felt like we really were guests in their home, and we were treated with the utmost hospitality and graciousness. Our room, the Franklinia, looked exactly as pictured on the website, and was one of the most comfortable nights' sleep we have had in years! Breakfast was delicious and filling, and the french-pressed coffee a delightful treat. The grounds are beautiful, and we would have loved to stay longer if our schedule had permitted.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

The Chester is wonderful. Every year a group of girls go and spend the weekend. While there we float down the river and relax at the Chester Bed & Breakfast. The food is great and the atmosphere wonderful. The home and grounds are beautiful. I am already looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

We had stayed in Scottsville before but not at this B&B. We are extremely happy that we gave this B&B a chance. Everything was wonderful - the grounds, the hosts, the accommodations, everything. Jean and Craig were wonderful hosts. They provided us with anything we asked, from extra towels to wine glasses to share a recent purchase with a fellow traveler around the Koi pond. We did not have dinner there, but other people did both nights we stayed and the aroma was fantastic. Next time we go down we plan on having dinner. Breakfast was elegant and delicious. We could not fault anything. In fact, the first morning we were surprised to find out that in the short time it took us to eat breakfast, our room had already been cleaned and the bathroom refreshed. Of note here - water pressure was great and there was plenty of hot water. The turn down service in the evening was also something unexpected. We've stayed at a number of places (around the world) and this was certainly the most relaxing and comfortable stay. We came down for our niece's graduation in early May and are already discussing when we will be visiting again. We've already recommended this spot to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We needed a “green” place to stay on our fly/drive vacation trip that was on the way from the Blue Ridge Parkway to Tidewater Virginia. We remembered Chester B&B from about 5 years ago and booked off their web site.
Great in every way. In May the azaleas were blooming, the grass was green and the birds at the feeders were new and beautiful. Rose-breasted Grosbeak was our favorite. Food was delicious. All rooms had a private bath and are richly furnished and decorated. And the house has a Civil War history, which we loved, being from Arizona.
I had the thought that this place would be perfect for a family reunion! If you would rent the whole place for a weekend, everyone could roam the extensive grounds and not worry about traffic. We recommend it. Anne from Arizona

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

What an unexpected and marvelous stay we had at Chester. Our plans took us to Charlottesville for a UVa event, but we didn't want to stay at the commercial hotels in the area. Chester was just 16 miles down beautiful Route 20, and worth every minute of the drive. Our room was peaceful and gorgeous, we were pampered by the gracious owners without feeling smothered, and I found myself tucked into bed at an early hour in a four-poster bed under a warm duvet with a roaring fire and a glass of wine. Breakfast was delicious (and also served fireside), and we returned to UVa rested and refreshed for our day. Don't miss this hidden gem!

  • Liked — beautiful accommodations, elegant service
  • Disliked — nothing at all!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chester Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Bed & Breakfast

Address: 243 James River Road, Scottsville, VA 24590
Location: United States > Virginia > Scottsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Scottsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester is a gracious bed and breakfast with elegant charm located just 16 miles south of Charlottesville. Guests will enjoy lovely rooms, private baths, wood burning fireplaces, spacious porches and landscaped arboretum grounds. Full gourmet breakfasts are included with each room; gourmet wine dinners are available for parties of 6 or more with advance request. Chester provides an intimate setting for quiet relaxation, comfort and romance. Chester hosts garden and tent weddings, reunions, and other events. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chester Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chester Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list