We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern on the James

Tavern on the James
280 Valley Street, Scottsville, VA
4342863500
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: 434-286-3500, just opened a few weeks ago, no web site yet. Should be popular.
Macon, North Carolina
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Almost like a sports bar with TVs everywhere. It was cold outside, and their soup hit the spot for me. We had a good lunch and drinks. Would recommend for lunch if in the area.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Earlysville VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not worth the drive, but if you do, have the homemade potato chips”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

the homemade potato chips really were very good.
The building is a beautiful - for sure the highlight of the dining experience. The service was slow and a bit surly, while the food, when it did finally arrive, was cold and greasy. The best my friend and I could do with our $18.95 steak dinners was to pack them for her dog. Since I was not able to stomach the main course, I ordered an additional side dish which never arrived.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent bar with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Another restaurant to mention in Scottsville is Tavern on the James. The building looks like it was once a brick warehouse. The owners did a complete renovation inside and added a large deck outside for alfresco dining. On the street side of the building is the bar which has televisions on all walls, plenty of tables for folks who want a little more lively atmosphere, a small area for a band on Fridays and a well apportioned bar. The James River side has two floors of indoor seating for a more intimate dining experience and the aforementioned deck. The food is very good (I would say it’s two notches up from bar food) and the service has always been very good.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

We ate at the Tavern hoping to get something "different". We frequent area restaurants and we were a little tired of the same dishes. We opted for the burger special--a 4 ounce filet mignon on a kaiser roll. It was perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious!!

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Went on a worthwhile whim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

The setting is a quaint, very old building with a comfort aura. Service was very good and the menu includes some unique items. A simple dish like mac and cheese is enhanced by the mood of the day, I brought home half of a Chig Picken sandwich (chicken, scrambled egg, bacon, cheese) because it was a large portion, and a burger described as 'killer' were three hits. The veggie burger was the only downer; seemed store bought. Consider room for dessert; bread pudding and peanut butter pie were outstanding.
Our only regret is that we're visiting family and it will be a while until we come back. But come back we will.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern on the James also viewed

 

Been to Tavern on the James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern on the James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.