We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but remote” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Meadows Vineyard Inn

Save Saved
You added High Meadows Vineyard Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
High Meadows Vineyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   55 High Meadows Lane, Scottsville, VA 24590   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Scottsville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quaint but remote”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We did the vineyard tours, included with our booking (Groupon special). This gets you free/discounted wine tastings at the local wineries, and some discounts if you purchase any wine. We got a packed lunch to take with us, which was very yummy and filling. They packed a bottle of water as well to keep us hydrated during the tastings. First Colony was our favorite winery, and is close to the Inn. They try to use local produce with their meals, and it is very flavorful. One breakfast we had lavender/lemon crepes. The next morning we had eggs benedict. They also arranged tickets for us to go to Monticello during our stay, which is a must if you're in the area. A tasting at Jefferson Vineyards is also nice.

Our stay: We stayed in the Robin's Nest room. It's on the top floor of the main house. Charming decor. We struggled somewhat as it was in the upper 90s during our stay, and the AC was not able to keep up. May be better to go in the Spring/Fall and be more comfortable. They do have free WiFI, but we only had access in the main living area, not in our room. Also FYI, no cell service if you have AT&T. They will let you use their phone though. The service is what you would expect from an Inn, but not as much Southern charm as I would have expected.

Location: We would have preferred to be closer to Charlottesville; this place is located 30-40min South of the downtown area.

Best Thing: Didn't need to plan our time during our stay, as many things were included.

Least Favorite Thing: Location. We love Charlottesville, and would have liked to be closer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    18
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
66
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here from Sunday to Tuesday via a Groupon Deal. The groupon included free wine tastings and a picnic lunch. We also had fabulous breakfasts cooked by our hostess on both days. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. So relaxing, like a spa/farm and wine setting all wrapped up in one. And close to Charlottesville if you want to drive to town for a fun dinner out, etc.

Room Tip: Wireless internet is on the first floor only but i didn't even want to check my email!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My wife and I took advantage of the terrific $200 package and really enjoyed our stay at this gem of a B&B Inn. Our room was beautifully appointed and, no less important to us, absolutely spotless. The breakfast included in the price was also a highlight. We were initially drawn to the place by all of the positive reviews we've seen online and were not disappointed. There is one negative review about an unexpected "tax" charge and now having stayed there ourselves, my wife and I would respectfully disagree. We looked at the terms of the offer in advance, and saw nothing about "taxes included," and so we were not at all surprised when a $20 charge for taxes showed up on our credit card statement. The previous reviewer apparently assumed that taxes were included in the price quoted, and when their ASSUMPTION turned out to be false, they accused the Innkeeper of being "unscrupulous." In my experience, when taxes are included in a promotion (which they generally are not), it will say, "taxes included" or "inclusive of taxes." Where it doesn't say that, and a $20 tax charge is assessed, I think accusing the Innkeeper of being unscrupulous is not fair or reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I purchased one of their summer specials--2 nts for $200. First they tried to tell me holidays were excluded and then they didn't return my calls after I sent them the original e-mail which did not exclude holidays. Finally got the reservation and stayed there. When I returned there was a $20 charge on my credit card. I called and was told that was for taxes. Their special didn't add a caveat about taxes, nor were we advised of the additional charge when we booked or left. I called and was told that everyone has to pay a tax. Not that I minded paying tax, but a special should make the consumer aware of additional charges. This is just poor business practices. We will never stay there again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We visit friends in the area a couple of times a year. We used to stay at the Omni in Charlottesville, which is nice, but now prefer to stay at High Meadows. We stayed in the Cottage Suite again this time and it was very relaxing sitting on the private deck. The bed was very comfortable. The day-lilies were in bloom and we enjoyed strolling around the grounds. It was fun to watch the big white duck walking around with the rooster.
The little town of Scottsville is growing. We liked the new restaurants. High Meadows is a short drive to Charlottesville so we had plenty to do.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

When we called to see IF we could cancel our reservation, I was told by daughter of the mother/daughter innkeeper team, that canceling WOULD NOT BE A PROBLEM. She stated there was an illness in the family and that it would be terribly inconvenient to entertain guests for our scheduled weekend of June 10 and 11th. SHE WAS VERY RELIEVED! She stated, “please don't worry at all. You will not be charged!” A week later we noticed a charge on our card and I tried unsuccessfully for 2 days to reach the innkeepers by phone and by email. It wasn't until I used my husband's cell phone (which would have appeared as a different caller ID) that I finally got someone to answer my call. I spoke to the mother and she stated that we had not canceled 10 days prior to our stay, therefore we would be responsible for paying our deposit. After courteously explaining to the mother the conversation I had with the daughter, I realized that the mother was no longer on the other line. She had rudely hung up the phone on me!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highmeadows, Owner at High Meadows Vineyard Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
1) There was a family emergency. HOWEVER,
2) Guests are a delight - never an inconvenience!!
3) Our refund policy is quite clear: 50% deposit, or one night's stay, is taken at the time of reservation, and refundable if the cancellation is more than 10 days from the arrival date. After that time, the guest is responsible for the cost of their stay, if we can not rebook the room.
4) This guests deposit had been made weeks in advance - and though she might not have received her statement until the 14th of June (a couple of days after her reservation dates), the charge had been made and authorized several weeks prior on May 18th.
5) When she cancelled 2 days before her arrival because she had found accommodations closer to the event she was attending, I assured her that her card would not be charged...for the balance of her stay (which was multiple days). We were fully booked that weekend, and hers was the only room left unoccupied - if she got the impression we were relieved, it was most probably because I was trying to be as gracious as possible, in assuring her that I would no charge her for her full night's stay. And indeed, we did not! We also graciously offered to allow her to use her deposit toward another stay with us in the future - rather than simply forfeit it. We also offered a certificate that she could give to someone as a gift, if she could not use it.

We do understand that 'life happens' - which is why we can often offer a guest the ability to use their deposit toward a later stay. However, we are a small property - we can not 'hold' a room, hence the deposit refund policy. This guest always has the opportunity to dispute the charge with her credit card company - and if it is found that our policies are 'unscrupulous' (though clearly posted and agreed to in writing by our reservation confirmation system so there can be no misunderstanding with future guests) then the credit card company will refund her deposit.

Finally, we are a busy inn, with a small staff of 2. If a call was missed, it was unintentional, or we were on another line. Of the dozens of calls we take in any given day, there is virtually no way, and no time or desire - to avoid a particular caller by checking the caller id for each and every phone call! No one hung up - there was simply a quiet, patient listening to this guest as she spent several minutes making her point...my mother did not interrupt, except to explain that she was on a cell phone...after several minutes, the call was lost - but not because a guest had been hung up on! All apologies if that is how it appeared. but that is certainly not the case.

Sincerely,
High Meadows Vineyard Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed at the High Meadows Vineyard Inn over night (Sunday to Monday). We were in the area - about 2 hours south of Washington, DC visiting nearby wineries. The HMVI is lovely and has been restored into a very comfortable, friendly place to stay. Cynthia, the owner and her brother were extremely helpful and friendly and provided good suggestons on which close by wineries were must visits. Each room at the B&B is different; we had the room with the round bed. There is also a detacted cottage.
The breakfast was superb - allthough it probably did not help my diet. Long story short- we definitely recommend the HMVI and plan on going back in the fall. jr

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Meadows Vineyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Meadows Vineyard Inn

Address: 55 High Meadows Lane, Scottsville, VA 24590
Location: United States > Virginia > Scottsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Scottsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Meadows Vineyard Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Meadows Vineyard Inn has been described as whimsical, luxurious, fun, charming...what can that mean for your visit? Well, your experience here will be all about YOU. Whatever you are looking for, we'll help you find it! Great food and comfy beds are just where it starts - we're a bed and breakfast after all. We're happy to help you plan an itinerary that will make the best use of your precious getaway time - and we've got several already designed for foodies, wine lovers (or newbies!), or shoppers. Want the insider info on local happenings? Give a shout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your High Meadows Vineyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Meadows Vineyard Hotel Scottsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Meadows Vineyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.