We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ma & Pa's Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ma & Pa's Diner
5600 Williamsburg Rd, Sandston, VA 23150-1315
(804) 226-0329
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Sandston
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“average”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Food was good but the people were very rude.Probably they are doing this business first time in life.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

It took 40 minutes rom the time waitress took our order until we received our food. It's a diner so we could watch the cook (SLOW!!). He would only cook one order at a time. There were only 10 customers in the diner at that time...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, NC
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Average Food. NICE Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I read the other reviews, and decided to give Ma and Pa a chance since I was staying at a local hotel. Took the family to breakfast while traveling, and I will say that the food was just average. The omelets and pancakes were good. Nothing to write home about, but nothing wrong with them either.

I would have never gone to this place if I had not read about it on TripAdvisor, since it is scary from outside, but inside the staff were SUPER FRIENDLY and it seemed clean (worn and old, but clean). Lots of chicken decorations. We were definitely the only out-of-towners; wait staff knew almost everyone else.

If I was in area, I'd go back, but I would not travel off I-95 just to go here.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food greater price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Owner very friendly service excellent value exceptional. Great taste on all items ordered. Would highly recommend don't let the exterior fool you! You don't eat the building.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Calif.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great food at low prices - ignore the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

This is a plain looking Mom & Pop diner. That being said, their food is great down-home fare. Their prices are on the low side of reasonable, especially for their daily specials. I ordered baked pork chops. Everything comes with a choice of three sides, most of which are homemade. Corn and greenbeans, for example, are from a can. The fried apples lead the homemade items and are outstanding.

The food was so good, we opted to come back the next day instead of exploring one of Richmond's more upscale dining choices. This time it was ham and cabbage - an entire half head. The desserts are homemade and both times we shared one of their generous servings. Their efforts are a homerun - just don't expect an upscale atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma & Pa's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ma & Pa's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ma & Pa's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.