We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual Hampton experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   421 International Center Drive, Sandston, VA 23150   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Ligonier PA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Usual Hampton experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The usual Hampton experience: clean property, comfortable bed, nice pool, standard breakfast. Surprised that king suite did not include sofa bed: rollaway $15 extra. Plenty of parking; a couple of malls within minutes. Excellent access to interstates.

Room Tip: King suite will sleep only two unless you bring own bedding or buy rollaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Valued Hampton Inn Guest, I appreciate your wonderful comments about our hotel. I am sorry that you weren't happy that your room did not have a sleeper sofa in it. We are primarily a corporate based hotel, so we only have standard rooms one with a king size bed and one with two queen size beds. We do have rollaway beds available to accomodate for larger parties, and I am happy to know that the rollaway bed helped with your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this great review. We love having you here!

Tonya Hopkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    58
    14
    0
    2
See reviews for
54
38
16
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McAlester, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

One of the better Hampton inns and price was excellent! Very clean & comfortable. We were moving our daughter to Richmond, so will be making visits to Richmond in the future - this is where we will stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! It really means a lot to our staff to know that they are doing a great job.

I am so happy to know that you enjoyed staying at our property and will be coming back. Being only 10 miles from Richmond City it makes us a perfect location for those who want to visit but don't want the hustle and bustle.

I hope to see you again soon, we love having you here!
Tonya Hopkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here twice this week and was not disappointed. The staff are helpful and friendly, the hotel is clean and offers the high standard that you come to expect from Hampton? There are also lots of chain style restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Only a mile or so from the airport but plane noise was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review for our property. It is reviews like this that help us to get the outstanding reputation that we have. It was a pleasure having you as a guest at our property and I will make sure to let all of my employees that they have made another guest very happy.

We love having you here!
Tonya Hopkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Came to Virginia to visit my dad. This hotel was great. Worked out well that on the floor my husband and daughter were staying on was all young families with other small children. Hotel for being crowded was very quiet. The pool was great, chilly but great. Breakfast was better Saturday then Sunday due to option selection but the staff was very friendly and helpful. Another great thing for this hotel being as close to the airport we did not hear many planes which was really nice. Would highly recommend and would visit again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It makes me so proud to know that my staff has made yet another loyal customer!

I am sorry to hear that you were not as happy with breakfast on Sunday as you were on Saturday. After a very busy summer we have started putting some new plans in motion which will help our breakfast food variety very much.

I hope that you come to see us again, we love having you here!

Tonya Hopkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I travel all over the USA and choose Hampton Inns for the majority of my stays. This is a new property and is well maintained. My room was in excellent condition and everything was very clean and bright. I used the wired Internet connection in my room and had no problems. It is very close to the airport so it's a good choice if you are heading out early the next morning.

My only complaint was that the air conditioner was extremely loud. I'm used to these "window shaker" style of units and all of them emit some noise. But this has to be one of the loudest I've encountered which was surprising since everything here looks new. I would have just turned it off and accepted whatever temperature I had but that's not a great option on a hot July night.

If you are not a heavy sleeper you might want to consider staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
I am happy to hear that the condition of our rooms met your expectations. We try very hard to ensure that every room looks brand new for our guests. We pride ourselves on having clean, comfortable rooms.

I am so sorry to hear that you had an issue with the air conditioning in your room. We have been having an unbearingly hot summer here in Richmond, VA. With weather above 100 degrees our air conditioners have been working very hard to cool our rooms. Our maintenance department has been working on this issue very hard for the past month and I am sure that this will not be a reoccurring problem.

Thank you for your review, I hope to see you at the Hampton Inn again.

Tonya Hopkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma,NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have stayed at this Hampton Inn on numerous visits to Colonial Downs. This stay did not meet the high standards we had experienced before. I don't think a single employeed displayed a positive attitude!
The young lady at Sunday breakfast was about the worse! The breakfast area was not rushed and she still did a poor job of keeping items on the bar. Add TV problems, weak shower pressure and this definitely was not a typical Hampton Inn facility. Every business has an off day and I hope this is what happened. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Some people have trouble with the airport noise but we have never had any problems. We won't let this one negative experience keep us from staying here again, but certainly hope that this weekend was not the beginning of a trend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We appreciate your loyalty to our Hampton Inn, it make us so happy to know that we have made past stays so wonderful that you have returned. We love having you here!

I can assure you that we are doing everything in our power to be better prepared for our sold out weekends. Our goal is 100% satisfaction for every guest, which we back with a 100% satisfaction guarantee "If you're not satisfied, we don't expect you to pay".

Please also keep in mind for future visits, we always have a manager on duty that you can reach out to during your stay. They will be happy to help with any problems that you are having and will have an immediate solution for you.

Sincerley,

Tonya Hopkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here ahead of an early flight, great clean room with quick shuttle to airport. Return pickup was quick and easy, flying out of Richmond, this is a great option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our Park Stay and Go rate package! We are finding that more and more guests are taking advantage of this fast and easy way to travel from the Richmond Airport.

I will let my shuttle staff know that they are doing a fabulous job, they will be happy to know that they have made another guest happy with their service.

Thank you so much and come see us again!

Tonya Hopkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport

Address: 421 International Center Drive, Sandston, VA 23150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sandston
#2 Business Hotel in Sandston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Richmond Airport hotel is less than 1 mile from the Richmond International Airport. Offering 104 spacious guest rooms with micro/refrigerator, hair dryers, iron and boards, 32 inch flat screen TV's. Also including free breakfast, free high-speed internet, free business center, free fitness facility and indoor heated pool. Just a few miles from Downtown Richmond. A city rich in history. We loving having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport Hotel Sandston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.