We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Property and Room, Decent Breakfast, Tight Parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 Airport Sq. Lane, Sandston, VA 23150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Clean Property and Room, Decent Breakfast, Tight Parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is a convenient location to all Richmond attractions, Close to shopping and restaurants as well. The staff was cordial and efficient. The rooms were adequate with added refrigerator and microwave, plus flat panel TV in the room. The continental breakfast was adequate with both cereals and hot offerings, though the seating area was a bit cramped. Overall this is a great value in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest

First I would like to Thank You for taking a moment of your time to leave your comments regarding our Hotel online.
The Staff and I are pleased to see that you found everything to your liking and that you had a positive experience.
Yes, we are not the Five Star Ritz Carlton but we do try very hard to offer you a comfortable accommodations with the basics to prepare you for your trip or business meeting, such as Your Room needs, turn down service, wake up calls, breakfast available in the EARLY hours, and the option of Free Parking while you are out on your trip.
I hope to see you again

Sincerely
Michael Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    98
    46
    17
    7
See reviews for
95
60
25
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We needed a place to stay before a very early morning flight. The rates are reasonable, and they are located five minutes from the airport. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. Our room was quiet, clean and everything worked. The decor was unremarkable and the furnishings were serviceable, but obviously not new. The carpet in particular was showing its age. The public areas were somewhat dated, but again clean with everything in good working order. The included breakfast was typical, with pre-cooked eggs and sausage. This hotel may not be as elegant or as modern as some, but they do an excellent job of accommodating airport travellers. For example, breakfast was available when we checked out at 5:00am, much earlier than most hotels. The shuttle bus was convenient and available to meet all flights, and they announced each shuttle departure in the breakfast room to make sure no one missed their ride.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to leave your comments online.
The Staff and I are pleased that your found everything in order for your arrival and that your departure went well also.
Yes, we are a Great Hotel for travelers especially persons needing to go to the airport very very early in the mornings, with Breakfast ready and Parking for free and a shuttle ready to transport you at 4:30am.
I hope to see you again on your next visit

Sincerely
Michael Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Comforter-iduvet is LUMPY. I sent a picture to my husband he said it looked like the moons surface. Chair is stained, carpet doesn't feel clean. Hallways are dingy. Tired doesn't begin to say how neglected this place is. I've stayed at best westerns before while traveling for business and I have never seen the same conditions. It will make me want to never stay at a best western again. They havein the past been reliably comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule to post your comments online.
My sincere apologies go out to you for not exceeding your expectations.
I would like to inform you as well as other guest that we have begun the process of updating and making a few changes to our rooms. Our Bedding package with duvets have pockets of cotton fibers and down feathers all throughout the insert which is why it puffs up, there are not lumps.
If you have any other concerns you would like address please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely
Michael Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Arrived late one evening and we were leaving early the following morning so we needed something near the terminal, reasonably priced, clean and comfortable.
This hotel met all our needs plus the staff were super friendly . The shuttle service was prompt, breakfast was good and we had a good nights sleep.
The hotel was a little worn but it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking time to leave your comments online.
The Staff and I would like to Thank you for your kind words and we hope that we will be able to serve you again in the future for your travel needs.

Sincerely
Michael Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Selected this hotel for price and location. Price was very good. However, property could use some updating and minor repairs. Price we got may have something to do with location next to pool. Room needed monthly "field day" (complete cleaning). There was mold on tiles in bathroom; dirt in corners of bathroom floor (something the maid would not get to on normal routine - needs thorough cleaning at least once/month); stopper in bathroom sink required maintenance (I don't know how the maintenance tech could access under sink because under sink completely enclosed). Carpeting in hallways and room looked dingy. Windows needed washing. Breakfast: very good offerings and the employee performed very well keeping everything supplied; there was overflow seating outside breakfast area (lobby area). Would I go back? Yes, if the price is right.

Room Tip: Stay away from pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest

First i would like to Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule to leave your comments regarding your stay here at our Hotel. I am please to see that you found the breakfast area to your liking, and well as Our Friendly Employees. I do however want to address your concerns regarding the bathroom. I would never want you to feel that you are stuck in a room based on your price nor feel that we would deliberately place you in a unsanitary room because you were able to aquire a special rate. I really wish that in the future you please take a moment to either call or come to the desk and let us know that your room is not up to standards, we would have been more that happy to relocate you to another room. Your satisfaction is our Goal, We may not hit the mark each and everytime, but we do try our best to please. Your comments have been forward to Housekeeping and the Engineers for follow up, and i know for sure on your next visit you will be more than happy with all of your accomodations.

Thank You
Michael Brown, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Chose the property because proximity to the airport. Stayed two nights in a double room. Although the entire property is obviously a bit worn and dated, it is very clean. Everything in the room worked. The staff is friendly and efficient. Breakfast is above average with a nice selection of breads, cereal, and hot items. Shuttle service is good. The only drawback we noted is there aren't many reataurants on the immediate area. Highly recommended for a short stay near the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank You for taking the time to post your comments online. The Staff and I are pleased that you had such a nice time here and you found clean your room to be clean and comfortable. I did want to address a couple of your concerns 1. We will be updating and upgrading our rooms within the next year, with some improvements completed by the end of this year. I hope you get the opportunity to return and see how much we have changed. Lastly as for the places to eat in our area, we have over 20 places to eat all within a mile a two from the hotel. Next time if you need suggestions please fee l free to ask one of our agents at the desk.

Thank You
Michael Brown, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I picked this hotel because I had an early morning flight and wanted to be close to the Richmond airport. It only takes about 10 minutes to get to the airport from this hotel. Very easy and well marked drive. This is an older hotel that has been some what keept up. Found out it is used by a lot of people that attend the NAS car races at Richmond Speedway. Hotel was very full that night because there was a race the next day. Even with that many people staying there that night the room was quiet and we got a good nights sleep. Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds comfortable and bathroom neat and clean. Has a very small outdoor pool behind the hotel. Although I didn't use the pool it seemed to be kept up. Breakfast was good. This hotel is good for race fans and anyone who wants to be close to the airport. It's a little hard to find because it sits behind another hotel that is on the main street. You have to look close for the hotel sign which is right next to the sign of the hotel that is in front of it. This hotel is 15-20 miles from downtown Richmond. If you're planing on doing things in Richmond you might want to look for a hotel that is closer to the city. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for more than one night if you have children. As i said there is a very small pool in the back but other than that there is nothing to do for children. I had a nice stay and I would stay there again if I ever use the Richmond airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHAEL B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank You for taking time out to post your experiences at our Hotel online. We all are pleased that you found everything to your liking, and also i am happy that to know that we provide Good Quailty Service to you and your travel companions. Please remember us for your future travels as we look forward to hosting you again.

Thank You
Michael Brown, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel

Address: 5300 Airport Sq. Lane, Sandston, VA 23150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandston
#4 Business Hotel in Sandston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandston
#5 Family Hotel in Sandston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.