We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They made being stranded relatively painless.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5501 Eubank Road, Sandston, VA 23150   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“They made being stranded relatively painless.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Delta put me up at this hotel when my flight was cancelled and they were unable to get me set up on another flight that day.

Arriving, I had high hopes for a nice room. The hotel seems quite nice as you enter and the staff was sympathetic about my flight situation and very nice in general. Check in was easy and my cookie was tasty.

The room was larger than I expected, having a nice separate sitting room at the entrance, and was very clean and comfortable. That said, the reason such an otherwise nice room was being used for airline comp was immediately apparent. In the area where the bed was located the ceiling next to (but not directly above) the bed appeared to have suffered some kind of water damage and there was a wall to wall seam where the paint/ finish had flaked away. There was also a portion of the carpet next to the wall where there was a perfect imprint of where someone had let a hot iron sit long enough to melt the fibers.

Now to be clear, I really didn’t mind these two minor flaws in the room. The room was free, comfortable, and clean. The service was great and I’m sure that if I had said anything, they would have moved me to a room with a better aesthetic. I only mention this at all in the interests of offering a complete and honest review of my stay.

While I was there I did order a pulled pork sandwich from room service. The food arrived promptly, was nice and hot, and tasted fine. Folks should be aware that the hotel does accept airline meal vouchers, but only for the meal listed on the voucher. I had one for dinner and one for lunch, but only was able to use the one for dinner due to how late I arrived.

When checking out, I left before the regular shuttle schedule started but the driver was more than happy to take me to the airport right away.

Room Tip: If minor flaws like the ones I describe are unacceptable to you, be sure to just give the room a onc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    97
    72
    78
    31
See reviews for
92
48
37
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Maryland
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I stayed two nights at this property. This is my second stay here, but first review. Like other reviewers have noted, nothing to write home about. This Doubletree provides basic comfortable hotel accommodations and friendly and helpful staff. Bruce at check-in is always pleasant and welcomes you back. My fifth floor king suite was comfortable. There was a refrigerator in the room, but no microwave. The location is across from remote airport parking and relatively quiet. There are not many exciting dining options in the immediate vicinity, but a short drive to White Oak Town Center has an abundance of restaurant and shopping choices. Unlike, other Doubletree properties, this property does not provide a free breakfast to HH Diamond members. Your HH perks include two mini bottles of water. The standard chocolate chip cookie was not as warm as I recall, but I did check in after 9 pm. While, I had my own transportation, the hotel advertises that they provide complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius, 24 hours a day. There is a full-service restaurant which I have only used for breakfast. On this stay, I ordered an omelette, tea and sausage for $15.00, a rub, because I expect at a minimum, free breakfast at Diamond-level. I had no connection issues with the complimentary wireless service. Overall, staying back-to-back at Doubletree properties over the last two weeks provided a stark contrast in amenities between this property and the Doubletree Tarrytown where I stayed last week. I noticed other Hilton properties in the area and am more likely to try out those on my return visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I picked this hotel for its location (just opposite the Richmond airport), so it definitely wins points for being convenient. The staff displayed typical southern hospitality - perhaps too intrusive and sugar-coated by non-U.S. standards, but certainly preferable to apathy. Being handed a warm cookie at 9pm was about the last thing I wanted after a long day of travel, but that's a personal preference and each guest can choose how they wish to experience that welcome gesture. Craving instead a nice dinner accompanied by a glass of wine, my colleague and I set off to the restaurant, encouraged by the front desk clerk's spontaneous pronouncement of how good the food was there. Don't expect much. The restaurant staff was willing and sincere; the food was tired and disappointing. But again, if convenience is a priority, then you might make do with the restaurant. There was certainly a wide variety of menu items. We had the crab cakes, but they barely compared to ones you can get in downtown Richmond restaurants that are fresher and more flavorful.

The rooms, as other reviewers have pointed out, have a tired, dated feel but are generally comfortable and functional. The public spaces are clean and pleasant.

Breakfast was as disappointing as dinner. The cheery staff helped make the experience more palatable, but the lack of good coffee (don't look for any cappuccini!) and a poor selection of fresh fruit (green bananas and shrivelled apples) didn't win points from us. But it's more convenient than the alternative of fighting Richmond rush-hour traffic to find a breakfast place.

Overall a forgettable experience at a hotel that certainly has some merit: convenience, nice staff, clean accommodations. Would I return if on business in the area and needed an airport hotel? Maybe. Would I carefully consider other possibilities? Most definitely.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layton UT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The staff here is quite good and accomodating. The place is a bit poorly decorated, needs a little sprucing up decorating wise. who ever painted this place was a lousy painter. but the rooms are quite comfortable and everything is clean. there is a general lack of attention to detail. Ice machine on my floor broke and was never fixed in the following 3 nights i stayed there. one day I found my bed wasn't made. for some reason housekeeping quit halfway, and left a pile of new sheets on my TV cabinet. I called the front desk, they say housekeeping came up, but i was out so they didn't come in. Why? the water is not hot enough at times for a good shower.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
2,361 helpful votes 2,361 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

In most cases you get what you pay for, but here you get way more than that. Property is in great shape from a maintenance standpoint, friendly staff, large rooms and very comfy beds-right on the airport's doorsteps. We only stayed one night, but thoroughly enjoyed it. Everyone has a different experience, but we couldn't find a downside here. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We called looking for space just as Hurricane Irene began her assault on VA. The only room available was the "Presidential Suite". Staff was friendly upon arrival. However, when we arrived at our "Presidential Suite" what greeted us was hardly "Presidential". First, there bare bulbs in the fixtures in the ceiling, no cover, just bare bulbs. Not one picture on any wall throughout the "suite". There was one very old, very dusty, very dilpidated silk plant in each bathroom. The in room refrigerator was a tiny cube sitting on the counter top in the kitchen. The coffee maker in the room did not work. Living room had very dated furniture and the tv hanging on the wall received only about 1/4 of the channels that the tv in the bedroom received. Bedroom consisted of a very nice, very plush, king size bed and in-room jacuzzi tub. The jacuzzi had one of the controls broken off that controlled the jets. Our tv in the bedroom of the suite was very old and housed in an armoire that had the doors torn off, yet the magnets and hinge hardware were still visible. The "suite" had a full bathroom and a half bath. The shower in the full bath had the single handle to control the water temperature and this handle was reversed. Hot was cold, Cold was HOT. When you pull the handle to turn the water on the whole handle, pipes behind the shower and all comes with it. I brought all of this to the attention of the front desk. The folks sent up someone from "engineering" whom I ran this littany of problems down to. In response I was offered a couple of coupons for a free cookie. Yes, a free cookie. Most Doubletree experiences have been positive but this one was absolutely not. Presidential Suite, extremely laughable, VERY DISAPPOINTING.

Room Tip: Ask to see and tour your room before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

During our last few trips to Richmond, we stayed at Hyatt Place, but they were booked, so we went back to the trusty Doubletree. I requested a suite, since it wasn't much more than the regular room. The room was a nice size, but the bathroom was horrible. It seems like it had extensive water damage, and was fixed by an amateur. I think I could've done a better job. There was grout/mold/or whatever that was, in quite a few spots and it was just gross. Since we were only there 2 days, I didn't even bother to complain, which is so unlike me. We ran out of toilet paper and we needed more towels, so the next morning we went to the front desk to get more and was told that housekeeping wasn't in yet and they don't have access. What? I'm pretty sure I recall them telling us that if we needed anything before 9 am and after 3 pm to go to the front desk, and what hotel staff doesn't have access to anything until the housekeeping staff comes in? Needless to say I was not a happy camper. Thank goodness those 2 days flew by, and most of our time was spent at basketball games. I don't think I'll ever stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport

Address: 5501 Eubank Road, Sandston, VA 23150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Sandston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sandston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Richmond Airport is across from Richmond International Airport (RIC) and offers complimentary shuttle service, parking and high speed internet access. Enjoy our fitness center, volleyball court, seasonal outdoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond Airport
Doubletree Sandston
Doubletree Hotel Sandston
Sandston Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.