We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Deli

Joe's Deli
115 Rke Blvd, Salem, VA 24153-5029
540-387-4444
Update restaurant details
Ranked #5 of 82 restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Do you like real subs? I'm talking about subs that are so large that they will not fit in your mouth. Subs that are the way subs are suppose to be. Joe's deli is a wonderful place to take your entire family for a meal. The deli has more than ample seating. The subs are amazing. We have 4 children, three who are really young. We are able to purchase one 12 inch sub and split it between them.
If you have a moment, speak to Joe. He is quite an amazing guy. Very genuine, very interesting. A great "give it a try" and never go anywhere else to get a sub place.
Breakfast until 3pm M-W, open until 8 on Th-F and closed on weekends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    6
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful subs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Their subs are some of the best I have ever tried. I have been there a few times and the wait was very long and the place really is not much to look at. A little decor would go a long way! If this were based solely on the subs, I would give it a 5.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“lunch-time fav!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Haven't visited Joe's new location, but frequently get take out for lunch as it's close to work. Prices are good and portions are generous. Sandwiches are great; haven't tried a salad but the ones my coworkers get always look good!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Only excellent because of the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Service here sucks to say the least..staff are rude and impatient. However, the food s great! My workplace orders from them frequently.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Okay meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Simple meu - a local joint, so sometimes if you are not a "local" service lacks. Breakfast is best with eggs flawless - skip lunch and dinner, MacDonald's salads are better/fresher

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Joe's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.