We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salem Ice Cream Parlor Incorporated

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Salem Ice Cream Parlor Incorporated
404 W Main St, Salem, VA 24153
(540) 389-2373
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 83 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Rocky Mount, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I like the Salem ice cream parlor if for any other reason, because it's hometown comfort. The décor is shabby chic with lots of local flair and an old ice cream shop air. The ice cream itself is good; they use Hershey's, and the unique offerings make it a place worth visiting repeatedly. The regular food items, are quite good as well with a variety of sandwiches that are perfect for a lunch stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good ice cream parlor in SW Virginia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Like Leighann B, I agree that this icp has an excellent choice of i.c. flavors .... EVEN IF THEY HAVE ELIMINATED old-fashioned chocolate chip flavor. They also offer very few flavors of no-fat flavors ..... chocolate is one of them that they do offer, however. We have lived in the Roanoke valley for 16 years, and have been coming here several times each year. They are getting pricey now. I believe it is now over $3 for a single scoop, although the single scoop is BIG. And a double scoop is still less than $5, I believe. But the place has a great atmosphere, the Hershey's brand ice cream that they serve is very high quality, service is always top notch, so they get a strong review overall.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“sweet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had ice cream and milk shakes but folks there were enjoying burgers and fries. It is an old fashioned kind of restaurant - very family friendly and staff is open and helpful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Love it! Favorite place for our family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

They have a great variety of ice cream flavors, sundaes, and shakes. You can get a fresh, delicious combo with sub, soup, drink for a very affordable price plus you can add ice cream! :) Tomato bisque yum!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem va
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome Ice Cream!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Wow, what a great little ice cream stop!!! Tons of choices and great flavors.Well worth your time to stop and visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salem Ice Cream Parlor Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salem Ice Cream Parlor Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;