We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Burwell Place

Inn at Burwell Place
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Burwell Place
Save Saved
You added Inn at Burwell Place to your Saves list
601 W Main Street, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Salem B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I were here just one night, but it was a wonderful stay! The room was beautiful and had a sleeping porch which was lovely. Cindy Lou is friendly and inviting, and the inn itself is quiet and extraordinarily comfortable. It's also a great location - you can walk down Main St and enjoy a nice dinner (and some drinks!) and stroll back. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There are three rooms - we stayed in one of the suites which was quiet spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I were married at The Burwell in 2010. It was the most stress-free wedding imaginable. Because we had such a marvelous experience, my husband decided to reserve the same wedding room for our four-year anniversary. Once again, the Inn doesn't disappoint. Cindi Lou exudes her "joy of life" buoyancy and the Inn is as beautiful as we remembered. The Miele coffee and the breakfast basket never disappoint. This Inn gives you enough privacy and all the accommodations anyone could wish for. Each room is elegantly and authentically decorated yet allows us to feel very comfortable and welcomed. We plan to return and celebrate our marriage/wedding in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We (grandma and mom from Amsterdam, The Netherlands, visiting my college student daughter) had a wonderful stay at the Inn at Burwell place in October 2013. It truly is a little gem, a very charming house filled with warmth and cozyness, well located close to the Roanoke College campus. Innkeeper Cindy Lou is FANTASTIC! She was always ready to help out, provided excellent advise and served perfect breakfasts and wonderful coffee (home baked goods, like muffins and bananabread, always accompanied by some fresh fruit).We had a lot in common with Cindy Lou, which also resulted in wonderful talks. It really felt like a home away from home and I can only advise every Roanoke College parent or grandparent to stay at the Inn at Burwell Place!

Room Tip: Room #2 is a perfect room for 3 people, it has a separate bedroom for the third person, very handy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boones Mill, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed at Inn at Burwell Place many times..we absolutely love the personal touch the owners put into making our stay a very memorable and enjoyable one. The rooms are wonderfully decorated and inviting. We love the beautiful front porch and gardens in the back. Very convenient to downtown, yet in nice private setting. Always look forward to staying there!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

As a Tech grad, I was always looking for a cozy place for my parents to stay near Blacksburg or in the Roanoke area. Well...life happened and I found myself attending a wedding reception at the Inn at Burwell Place. It was fantastic!! I wish I knew this place was existed; my parents would have loved it!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Coming to Roanoke/Salem for medical school interviews was nerve-racking, yet the plush and comfortable setting of the Inn at Burwell Place combined with the incredibly warm and kind reception from the owners turned what could have been a stressful weekend into an incredibly relaxing and enjoyable trip.

The rooms are pristine, full of historic details, and have an undeniable charm to them. The downstairs area is perfect for lounging or chatting with the other guests, and the rocking chairs on the front porch bring out the residence's undeniable Southern touch. My husband and I truly enjoyed the time we spent on that porch, sipping tea and espressos (yes, there's a Nespresso machine!), and swinging in the hammock.

Rivaling the charm of the house, the service of the Inn is excellent. We felt genuinely cared for, and the dining recommendations we received from our hosts were spot on! A phenomenal dinner followed by great conversations at the Inn, and a clean, crisp, welcoming room to come home to. What an evening it was!

Ultimately, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Roanoke or Salem, VA. It's a home away from home. Only better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful B & B in Salem VA conveniently located to Roanoke College Campus. The hotelier does a great job of making you feel welcome and provides any amenity you may need! The room we stayed in had a private bathroom which included shampoos, soaps, hairdryer etc. Snacks and cold beverages were available all day in the hall. Comfortable beds and good pillows! Beautiful Garden and nice front porch! They gave us darling brown bag snacks for the road which included fruit and home made scones and water!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Burwell Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Burwell Place

Address: 601 W Main Street, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Burwell Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.