We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MMMMMargaritas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Rodeo

El Rodeo
260 Wildwood Rd, Salem, VA 24153-2322
540-387-4045
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 83 Restaurants in Salem
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Merida, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“MMMMMargaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Hands down, the best frozen Margaritas in town. The food is about as Mexican as Vladimir Putin, but the staff is personable and really funny once you get to know them.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tranquility
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The décor is bright and exciting, just as a Mexican Restaurant should be. We were seated quickly and before our drink order was taken the chips and salsa was put on the table. If you like wine, try the sangria, wow, it was great! The menu is quite extensive with poultry, beef and seafood choices as well as combination platters. I had the shrimp Cascadia and it was wonderful. That with the rice and salad were much more than I could eat. If we ever pass this way again this will be a must place for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
2 reviews
“Beautiful Decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Upon entering the front door, you are met by the bright and colorful decor. Reminds me of the Carribean. It was clean and colorful. The chips were warm and the salsa had fresh cilantro in it. I recommend the 22oz beer, a fair value. I ate on the light side, a ground beef cassadilla. It was loaded with meat, but a little light on quesso, but still nicely toasted. My husband had a combination platter. The presentation was nice and the flavor, typical of mexican food. The setting and food, made of a nice end to the day of travel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food to go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We ordered 2 enchilada dinners to go. Cost was almost $25.00. Definitely a waste of hard earned money. We usually have no problems when dining in, the food is good and hot. Will never order to go again. We could have had a great steak dinner or seafood for that price. NO, NO, NO for anything to go from there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We don't usually care for TexMex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great experience. Worth a stop just for the décor. The food was a delight. Prepared and presented with some imagination.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Rodeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rodeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.