We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Pitt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Pasta Pit

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pizza Pasta Pit
1713 Riverview Drive, Salem, VA 24153
(540) 387-2885
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 83 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Saugerties, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not a Pitt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Enjoyed a local brew and good pizza. Don't be put off by the outside, and definitely try the porch - even in February.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Forge, Virginia
1 review
“Pretty nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The pizza was pretty good, and I loved the lunch special of 5 bucks for a 10" pizza. The steak sandwich we got was very good. Now it needs to be easier to get to..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassett, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hopefully the pizza is better than their entrees!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

After watching a movie, we decided to eat Italian and stopped at this establishment. By the number of vehicles in the parking lot, we assumed the food was decent. My wife ordered Linguini Primavera and I ordered Linguini Seafood Special. Both entrees were terrible. My wife's entree looked like soup with linguini and hard carrots of which she could not stomach to eat and my entree was linguini covered with pizza sauce, sparsely contained small shrimp and crab pieces. The breadsticks that was part of the meal was brought to the table cold. We were never asked for a refill on our ice tea. The waitress actually told us that the pizza was better than what we ordered. An absolute disappointment. We lived in Italy and know good Italian food. This definitely is one place I would not recommend or ever return to. A loss of hard earned cash.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice and close to home”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

It is a nice simple place to go for a pizza that is close to home. I much prefer it to the other chains and Humble Pie(nearby pizza place). Also prefer to support local owned places like this one. The owner is kind and always give my daughter a bread stick while we wait, which is very kind. We usually get the rustica pizza which I think is pretty good. Slow service has not been an issue for us but we are usually there early and sit on the patio where most of the servers hang out. They always have beer when I have been there, nothing exotic but a Blue Moon or Dos Equis on tap. Always had a nice time while visiting Pizza Pasta Pit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not many smiles or exceptional pizza here.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Sitting in the plastic covered tent we were told they were out of most beer, were told to take our time and then hurried out and the food besides the garlic cheese bread was on par with a frozen pizza. A dissapointment.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Pasta Pit also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Pasta Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Pasta Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.