We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1671 Skyview Rd, Ext 137 off I-81, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    47
    63
    44
    47
See reviews for
75
46
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights while I was in town to take the Virginia Bar Exam. The price was exceptionally cheap, which was the main reason I picked the place. The room was in bad shape - some of the paint was peeling and it had a funny smell. I wasn't terribly bothered by this because I had paid a dirt cheap rate. What did bother me, however, was that the staff seemed indifferent at best and unhelpfully rude at worst. For example, I asked the clerk checking me in to charge the room to a different credit card than the one I had used to make the reservation, but he refused, saying the computer wouldn't allow it. I refuse to believe that there's no way to change that; I'm guessing he just didn't want to do the work.
The hotel is right off I-81, and it seemed like it would be fine for people looking to crash for a night before continuing on in the morning. But it might not be the best place for people who are going to be in town for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had stayed here once before because I was traveling with a dog and they are dog friendly here. Actually, they are friendly. The place has a nostalgic feel to it, and for sure wasn't overly fancy, but the room was clean and had all the necessities including a mini frig. The view is amazing!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The room was supposed to have been recently renovated but there was burn holes in blanket, the toilet didn't flush right and this morning found a bug running around in the bathroom.

My husband and I along with about 15-18 other people came to the dining room around 8:40 for what we thought was going to be a great breakfast and they were out of eggs,sausage, and gravy and when we ask about it was told they were out and couldn't, make anymore. There was no coffee and had to wait for him to make more.

We will not be staying again.

Be ware of false advertisement.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Not the worst room I've ever stayed in. Cigarette burns all over everything in our "non-smoking" room. Staff was very friendly. Couldn't get a wifi signal for two days. Pool was clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

it is a good value for the area it is a bit run down but nothing a person cant live with. too many places have things they charge you for that you don't even use this a good place for a shower and a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opp, Alabama
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Average pretty much sums this place up. This hotel is not visible from the road. Had we not seen this place listed in the coupon book we picked up at a rest stop, we would have never seen it to just stop in. We were towing a large trailer and going about 20 MPH, saw the tiny beat-up sign (at the end of the road where one needs to turn to reach the parking lot) much too late to make the turn, so had to find a place to turn our rig around to get back to the hotel. The price we were quoted was only $2 more than what the coupon book said ($52 vs. $50,) so we didn't try to hassle with presenting the coupon.

The room was not as clean as it could have been, in a vague kind of way. Not thorough dusting, chronic failure to scrub some of the crevices of the bathroom fixtures.

I don't usually complain about stale air in a hotel room, but noticed that in this one. The exhaust fan in the bathroom wasn't functioning, just a hole in the wall with no cover over it, and a blank plate on the wall where the switch used to be. No source of fresh air in the bathroom at all, and obviously permanently out of commission. It was surprisingly chilly 7/16 and I turned on the heat, which smelled like burned hair so badly that we had to open the door to outside for a few minutes.

The bed wasn't uncomfortable, quite the opposite. We were here only to sleep, and that went well, but more pillows would have made leaning on the bumpy (due to style of carving) headboard more pleasant while watching TV for a few minutes in bed. There was a desk with a chair, and a pair of other comfortable chairs and small table. So laying in bed wasn't necessary to watch TV, but what I felt like doing after traveling for about 13 hours.

I had to unplug the noisy little refrigerator to be able to sleep. It may be handy for housekeeping, but it's not handy for guests for the light switch by the door to control all of the lights.

The detached building that houses the front desk and breakfast room didn't seem like it was part of the same entity as the actual hotel rooms. It was much more upscale and modern. It wouldn't take much for this place to improve to 4 or 5 stars. The bare bones are there, and when it was built (or last remodeled,) it was done at the higher end of the usual scale (of lower price range places,) regarding the things in the room and quality of them. They just need to keep them clean, repaired, replaced when necessary. A broken thing is worse than if that same thing was never there at all. Not much effort would be necessary to go from blah to being able to tell someone cares.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you can't or don't want to go up steps, know that you should ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Address: 1671 Skyview Rd, Ext 137 off I-81, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.