We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salem, VA Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1671 Skyview Rd, Ext 137 off I-81, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Salem
Fort Montgomery
2 reviews
“Salem, VA Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The best view in Salem. So nice, they charge you extra for a room facing it. Room passed my sniff test, and the rooms look recently remodeled and in good condition. The micro-fridge actually had a freezer section, but it made noise while running. There were no plastic cups to drink or gargle with. Hot breakfast was scary looking and cold with a micro there to warm it up. Price with coupon from rest area book was very good, and the view in the morning was impressive. Go for the top floor for the best view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    42
    58
    41
    44
See reviews for
67
46
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived at 1:30 pm half an hour before check in time. The room was not ready but the attendant let us check in and gave us our key cards and told us to come back at 2 pm and the room would be ready. We checked at 2 and the room was still not ready so we checked with the clerk who then called housekeeping to ask why. We were asked to either wait until the room was ready or opt for another room. We opted for another room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was a bit worried about staying here but once we got to our room I was fine. The room did smell funny. The blanket, not bed covering, smelled musty.
There was a mini fridge with a decent sized mini-freezer in top which was so helpful for us.
Beds were comfy as were the pillows.
The view is amazing!!
Very nice front desk staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Not clean. Smelly. Noisy ac unit. Stained sheets. Bright balcony light shines threw drapes. Very weak breakfast. Not worth the price even at a bargain price. Not a good place to stay. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, N.C.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Truly...the view here is quite phenominal. It is very scenic, so much so that the gentleman at the front desk wanted to charge me $5 extra for a front room at check-in. When I told him no thanks, he did let me stay in a room on the front side at no extra charge. I guess it was the old up sale, but don't loose a customer over it. My room was for all practical purposes pretty clean, and the bed really slept well. The pillows were much better than you normally see in motel in this category (see my profile). The TV worked ok, and the WIFI worked well, although it took me a couple of tries to get it to go. All in all, with a coupon, the room was a little over $46.00, which was not a bad deal. In fact I would even term it a decent stay for a traveling sales person, and I might consider it again. The thing which was problematic was there wasn't a working ice machine on the property for customers, although they would fill your bucket at the desk if you go ask. My feeling on this is simply this, a motel with this many rooms must really be trying to cut costs to go in the middle of July with no ice. I've always felt that a motel really should have a sign at the desk informing people that there is no ice available for customers. If, like this inn, they are willing to do it at the desk, this should be on the sign also. It's only fair to notify customers that there is one aspect of a typical motel stay which will not be available currently during your stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The room was dirty.Sheets looked never been washed and worn out.Broken fixtures.Bathroom dirty.Towels less than half length of Bath towels appeared to be rarely or properly laundered.Room smelled of smoke allover.
Free breakfast not worth even looking at unless you are prepared to get sick in stomach in the morning.I could not make out what concoction egg patties were made of.
I don't think it deserve a brand name Hotel.
Howard Johnson!! are you listening?Probably never inspected it.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Address: 1671 Skyview Rd, Ext 137 off I-81, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.