We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, great view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1671 Skyview Rd, Ext 137 off I-81, Salem, VA 24153   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Paris - France
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Average hotel, great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We had a room on the top floor, overlooking the mountains, the view was gorgeous. There is an elevator to the top floor, so if you have heavy luggage, this will not be a problem to get to your room. We had the chance of having great weather when arriving in the afternoon, so we were able to enjoy the pool for a while, and it was really enjoyable. The room itself was large, and clean, even though the furniture seems quite dated. We had a great breakfast in the morning, the breakfast area is large, and there is enough choice for an complimentary breakfast. The only issue we had was the bed. The mattress was certainly old. Whenever my husband or I made a movement, we had the feeling there was this huge earthquake ! So we did not sleep very comfortably. All in all, it is average then.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    53
    67
    46
    51
See reviews for
84
48
30
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kima720
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Great view,yes. We stayed 4 nights, Hotel was average as far as budget hotels go. However, We noticed I belongings seem to be moved when we came back in the evenings, thought it was just us misplacing things until we noticed an employee entering our room with a hotel key(not house keeping) when he had thought we had left for the day. Immediately I went to the office to complain and let them know he was in our room at that time and how alarming this was for us. Response from management was"So sorry, We tell them not to do that". Response from Owner.."Sorry," that was it.. This was extrememly disturbing to us, What was this man doing in our room when we were gone philfering thru our things or worse????? Immediately we began thinking was he placing cameras in our room? Was he being perverted with our things in our room? A million questions ran thru our heads. This man was very shady peering out when we left almost watching wevery move we made, We were 2 married women traveling alone due to a family illness, so this was very scary for us. I did file a Corporate complaint never have heard anything from Howard Johnson on what if any action was taken if any, no compansation was offered, we left and went to a rest stop to get ready for the day. Very alarming and disturbing pay the extra $ for another hotel and for the sanity of knowing this establishment is not trustworthy.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

On a business trip - Virginia Tech had a big game that weekend and this was as close as we could get to VTech for the work we were doing there the next day. The chairs in our room were terribly stained - just gross. Everything else appeared "okay". The mattresses have no full mattress cover and we pulled back the sheets to check for bedbugs immediately with no traces found. Linen was clean. We were on the first floor and you can hear EVERYTHING in the room. People walking by, suitcases being pulled in etc. There were also 2 vacuums that were left out in the walkway all night. We did not have breakfast here but it did smell good. The view in the morning from the front side of the motel is great! It made everything else worth it. This hotel will do in a pinch but needs MAJOR updates and renovations!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Stopped overnight on the way to NC from eastern PA and was thrilled with the location. Sits at a very high point with spectacular views. Unfortunately, I was not able to see them as I had a dog and was placed in the back of the motel. Not the cleanest place I have stayed with pets and the room did have a strong old pet smell. They did offer free wifi and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I picked this place because of the price, but I will return because of the friendly and professional staff, the outstanding view, and the quality of accomodations. The people at the front desk had my reservation ready before I even told them my name. The continental breakfast was very good. The in-room wi-fi was free and easy to access. You have to intend to go to this inn, because you must drive a short distance up the hillside, away from the city streets. Easy to get to, but not visible if you didn't already know it was there. That may explain the lower-than-average rates. It definitely explains the outstanding view of Salem and the entire valley. Incidentally, the Omelet Restaurant down the hill was really good, too. Give this place a try; your experience will be peaceful and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Management was very polite & pleasant. Rooms were spacious & very clean. The view of the Blue Ridge Mountains was great. The breakfast buffet was plentiful with many selections.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

The only good thing about this hotel is the location and the view. My family had 3 rooms, one of which was infested with bed bugs. The hotel knew they had the problem and tried to exterminate. When a refund was requested, we were told because we booked through a 3rd party they couldn't do anything. Also, the continental breakfast was HORRENDOUS! If you want a view, but don't mind sleeping with bugs, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem

Address: 1671 Skyview Rd, Ext 137 off I-81, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn And Conference Center Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.