We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute local place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Humble Pie Pizza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Humble Pie Pizza
1951 Electric Rd, Salem, VA 24153-7424
540-389-7900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 83 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cute local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I went here for lunch and had a tasty sandwich and drink. Price was pretty reasonable and the quality was good.
The service was great - the waitress even offered to give me a refill of my drink in a to-go cup when I was leaving. It's little things like that that can make an impression.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    2
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good, but needs to change a few things to improve.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have reviewed Humble Pie Pizza before - quite highly. I still think their pizzas are delicious and a bit unique. I also still eat there fairly often - a couple of times a month at the minimum. For the last several months, the restaurant just hasn't been as clean as it used to be. Perhaps they have cut down on staff, but there are sometimes tables full of dirty dishes when I enter that remain on the table, well, too long, before being removed. The floors are not all that clean looking either, though frankly, I imagine it is hard to keep their white tile floors looking very nice. Pizza is served on raised pizza trays and most of these have become very rickety. Perhaps the worst thing, IMO, is that if you dine at the restaurant a little later in the evening (past 7:45), the waitress begins cleaning all around you - setting chairs upside down on tables and sweeping vigorously all around while you are eating. This is most unappetizing. This has happened our last three visits and we left long before closing time. Not sure I want to go back unless they stop doing that. Still wonderful pizza however.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good pizza --friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

small shopping center location--enjoyed the pizza--better than the takeout places--stayed in nearby hotel and worked out great for us!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOODSTOCK, GA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice take out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We ordered a rather large take out order. It was made to our liking. The gal answering the phone was very helpful and pleasant. Food was good and we would return.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I'll Pass”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Cheap pizza. Poor quality - so thin it was ridiculous. Went and picked it up - the place was dirty. Won't be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Humble Pie Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humble Pie Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.