We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Location ... Mountain Baseball at its Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salem Red Sox

Salem Red Sox
1004 Texas Street, Salem, VA 24153
+(1)(540) 389-3333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Salem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool Location ... Mountain Baseball at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our family traveled to Salem for the first half of our Memorial Day weekend. While delays in our three-and-a-half hour car trip to Salem meant that we did not arrive until the bottom of the first inning, the front of the house at the stadium was still bustling and inviting. We made sure to visit the very nice team store down the left field line first. They had a great selection of products, and even an infant hat for our 10-month-old (not as easy to find as you might think),

The on-field staff was very typical for minor league baseball. They made the atmosphere fun and exciting, beyond just getting to see some good baseball. The concessionaires have a good selection of ballpark food, and a great beer selection of regional craft brews.

The thing that cannot be topped is the location of the stadium. They did a great job of utilizing the idyllic surrounds, giving spectators an amazing view of the Blue Ridge Mountains. They also take their ties to Red Sox Nation seriously, which adds to the character and fun (we are not Sox fans, but appreciate fandom). Be sure to stop by the aforementioned team store for a First Game/Welcome to Red Sox Nation button (My daughter proudly wore hers all evening).

All-in-all, this is a great place to spend a summer evening, whether you are a baseball fan or not.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Big league entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I was in town for a convention and decided to attempt to catch a game. I am from the Cleveland, Ohio area and frequently attend Cleveland Indians games and have also been to the A-Class Lake County Captains, AA Akron Aeros, as well as the AAA Columbus Clippers parks within the last couple of years in addition to many other ballparks around the U.S.

While my home town ball parks are fairly new I was very impressed with Lewis-Gale Field. The seating is above average and the prices are fantastic, the staff were all very nice and very eager to help with anything. While I came alone the park has many options for families beyond watching the game. The free parking and the nice flow of traffic out of the stadium was an exclamation point on my experience at the park. Even though I'm a Cleveland Indians fan it was a good time at a Red Sox affiliate game.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sa;lem, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Minor league ball at its very best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our farm club for the Red Sox seems to be well-supported by the whole Roanoke Valley and has a very pleasant ball park to spend an evening with the family on a warm summer night...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome, Maryland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great night out at the ballgame!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I were visiting the area and went to a ballgame, it was awesome! It is free parking, great stadium with cheap seat prices, all of which had a good view. We were sitting right behind home plate and it was PERFECT! The draft beer is $1, unbelievable. We got a chicken sandwich for $8. The stadium is clean and easy to walk around. I got a game ball, THANKS to one of the players. There are several little stores if you want to get hats or shirts. It was a GREAT night!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
218 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

It's a great way to spend an evening when on business by yourself away from home. Minor league ball is great, and you meet some interesting folks as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salem Red Sox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salem Red Sox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.