We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Litchell Rd, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Salem
New York, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

I thought the property was well kept. I don't think the value is that great. You can stay in similar hotels and be served a free hot breakfast. This place was charging ~$8.00 for a similar breakfast that you would get for free. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
23
16
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

My seventy-five year old mother and I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Salem Virginia for the night of Tuesday, October 7th, 2008. When making our reservations online, we requested a room on the top floor, away from the elevator and the Interstate, and we received a room on the third floor (of four) right in front of the elevator overlooking the entrance to the hotel.

The very large room included two queen beds, each with four pillows on them, a clock radio, one office-type chair with a table/desk, one comfy chair with an ottoman, one bench-type chair, a large television with fifty-seven channels and a remote, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, a coffeemaker, and an iron/ironing board. There was also a fake tree in the corner by the window, which we thought was a very nice touch.

The very large bathroom had plenty of room to move around in, and included three sets of towels, a hairdryer, bottles of shampoo and lotion, as well as a bar of facial soap and a bar of bath soap. There was a handle in the shower, which my mother was able to use to get in and out with ease. However, the shower area could have been a bit cleaner, especially around the shelves where the soap and shampoo would be placed.

The wired high speed internet connection worked sporatically for much of the night, making it very frustrating to get anything done. It should be noted that the hotel was completely sold out, so the demand on the network would probably have been high. Also, I was not able to get a wireless connection from the hotel room.

After taxes, the American Automobile Association rate per night for Room 320 came to $115.96 U.S. Funds. Overall, we were very comfortable, and despite having a room opposite the elevator, it was pretty quiet...

  • Liked — The fake tree in the room
  • Disliked — Poor Internet access from room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

we were recomended to stay at this hotel and it was one of the worst one ever.the room was so old and filthy and disgusting who ever cleans the room need to be fired the wall paper was coming off the walls,it looked old as dirt.Dont be fooled by the outer apperance,for the money i wished i would of slept in my car.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

First hotel on our 2,000-mile, 11-day roadtrip (me, hubby and his 95-year-old father), and how delightful was this??? We were graciously received, and the rooms were fine, as prevoiusly reviewed, but the big surprise was the quality of the dinner, given our spoiled NYC taste buds. I had one of the finest filet mignons ever, and the freshly sauteed veggies were prepared to perfection. Pop's shrimp dinner was so delightful, he wanted to hobble into the kitchen to compliment the chef! And it was such a joy to wind down the evening (after two long days on the road) in the cocktail lounge with a real bartender who knows how to make his customers fell right at home. We continued our trip on this beautiful highway the next day totally refreshed.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, good food, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Plastic cups in the room (thought they're everywhere, now).
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

This is one of the "new breed" of Holiday Inns, and definitely one of the better places to stay along the I-81 corridor in the Roanoke area. The hotel is new, and rooms are large and nicely appointed - bathrooms have granite countertops and tile floors. Bed was very comfortable. Free high-speed internet in rooms. Full bar and small restaurant with good, basic breakfast. When we were there on a weeknight, the hotel was completely full, so I would recommend a reservation. But, be warned: this is not a cheap place - - expect around $100 or so minimum. Still, it is -much- better than most of its competitors in the area.

  • Liked — cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — price was a little high
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

We check inn and staff very friendly. Great Pool and exercise system nothing fancy average nice resturant although, they did close early. Clean room. Your average hotel.

  • Liked — Price and Clean
  • Disliked — Location too far from Roanoke
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

I stayed here on business, and just expected your average hotel. What a surprise! The hotel is well appointed - with pool, gym, restaurant with room service. My room was spacious with new furnishings, comfortable bed and pillows, granite in the bathroom and mini-kitchen area. The staff was very friendly and suggested a great Italian place down the road - very good food. A lot of small touches that you normally only see in luxury or private hotels. Very impressed. The only concern is that my business partner's room was two double beds when she booked a king, yet my room was actually upgraded from what I booked. Other than that, all was great.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and furnishings
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke

Address: 450 Litchell Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Salem hotel is Salem, Virginia s exclusive full service hotel. Our brand new facility is conveniently located just off Interstate-81 at exit 137, in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We are minutes away from the following businesses and attractions: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Civic Center, Moyer Complex, and many more. Holiday Inn Salem will pleasantly surprise you with its gourmet Southern Seasons Restaurant, Sunny s Lounge with full menu service, free wireless high-speed Internet in public areas and guest rooms, Jacuzzi suites, fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub, on-site guest laundry facility, room service, fax/copy service, and 2400 square feet of meeting space. All of our guest rooms feature a refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and coffeemaker. The Holiday Inn Salem is the perfect choice for so many reasons. We cannot wait to welcome you to Holiday Inn Salem! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke Hotel Salem
Salem Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.