We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Litchell Rd, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

stayed at the hotel, a little disappointed:
It's more like a HIE, there is a restaurant on-site, breakfast is not to the HI standard: ordered a bowl of oat meal, but the hotel does not carry raisin for it. Some recipient was very greetful, however, there are a few had their eyes "glued" at monitor even when there was other customers in front of me...
Housekeeping is OK, though.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear James T,

Thank you for sharing your experiences. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to all of our guests. I am sorry to hear that you found the level of staff service and breakfast selection less than satisfactory. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with team for necessary improvements.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
23
16
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Call for King room after traveling for 12 or more hrs. At first was told at front desk they didn't have a King, then found one available. The room was a handicap room. That was okay but, the No Hot Water wasn't.
We where very tired, just wanted a Hot Shower, and comfortable bed. Bed was fine . It took 15 min of running just hot water to final have luke warm.
Packed up early next morning & left.
Would we stay at this location again? Most likely will not!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Queenu,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We would like to apologize you were not able to fully enjoy your stay with us. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. Please be assured that your feedback have been documented and forwarded for review and to take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stopped here without a reservation late at night on my way home North from Atlanta. The two ladies at the front desk were so courteous and accommodating. The room was spotless clean and very inviting . The bed was comfortable and linens were clean. Every hotel employee was kind and helpful. I will certainly stay here again and make this my stop over on my next trip to Atlanta. The employees at this Holiday Inn should be commended for their excellent service.

Room Tip: No issues or complaints room was exceptionally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
`����ˆ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Non smoking room smelled of old stale cigarette smoke. Coffee maker left with stale coffee and old grounds. Desk chair uncomfortable and dirty. Rugs worn and spotted. Need I continue. Highly recommend staying elsewhere. The only positive thing I can say is the manager was polite and acknowledged our concerns

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Skier982,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there 6 days. The wifi was very slow! Glad we were on vacation and not trying to work while there!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was cleaned as we needed. The only issue we had was we are IHG platinum members and not once was that acknowledged ...normally we are offered extra points or free water or room upgrade ...sometimes all 3. Nothing from this HI. That aside we would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family of 4 stayed here (including two children under 6) and thankfully I had family nearby because when we went downstairs for breakfast, we had to pay. Normally this wouldn't bother me, but when you have two little people who don't eat much, that can add up in a hurry. The buffet looked like one you could get for free at a Holiday Inn Express so I guess I should have stayed at one of those instead. We ate with at our family's home instead. Otherwise, the rooms were clean-ish and the front desk staff was friendly. The blanket on our bed had obvious stains on it, that looked like they were attempted to be cleaned out, but they were still there. We only had three bath towels in our room when we needed four. I'm sure we could have asked for an additional one, but just to let you know beforehand. The location is convenient right off the highway, but a few more hotel's have been built nearby so I don't think I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear HBH2336,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the pricing structure of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville,Ga.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were on our way to PA. and being we left Georgia late morning we decided to get a room at the half way point. We stopped here at the Holiday inn in Salem VA without a reservation. The reservation lady was very pleasant and greeted me with a smile. I asked if she had a room with 2 queens and she said she did. The price was very reasonable so we took the room. We went to the room and it was pleasantly very roomy. I was not disappointed at all with the accommodations. The only thing that I did not like was the food service from the dining area. It was a paid menu which I didn't mind but the food, at least for the breakfast side was not that good. The bagels were frozen as well as the waffles. I had an omelet which was just overloaded with to much of the veggie's. They do offer a buffet style breakfast but I really didn't care for that after looking at the items. Overall the room was good but the food I could have done without. Best to find another place to eat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Jeff S,

Thank you for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to know that we were able to meet your expectations when it comes to providing our guests with good value room accommodations.

Although I appreciate you sharing your thoughts, it is truly regrettable that you were not able to fully enjoy our breakfast. Please be assured that your comments will be used towards our improvement so we could provide you with a better hotel experience in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke

Address: 450 Litchell Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Salem hotel is Salem, Virginia s exclusive full service hotel. Our brand new facility is conveniently located just off Interstate-81 at exit 137, in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We are minutes away from the following businesses and attractions: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Civic Center, Moyer Complex, and many more. Holiday Inn Salem will pleasantly surprise you with its gourmet Southern Seasons Restaurant, Sunny s Lounge with full menu service, free wireless high-speed Internet in public areas and guest rooms, Jacuzzi suites, fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub, on-site guest laundry facility, room service, fax/copy service, and 2400 square feet of meeting space. All of our guest rooms feature a refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and coffeemaker. The Holiday Inn Salem is the perfect choice for so many reasons. We cannot wait to welcome you to Holiday Inn Salem! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke Hotel Salem
Salem Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.