We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Litchell Rd, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Salem
Dagsboro, Delaware
1 review
“Southern Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our family traveled to Roanoke College graduation and my sister had accidentally booked the wrong hotel. The Quality Inn had no elevator which we needed. Mike the regional manager made everything right for us! He upgraded our room to the Holiday Inn for the same price! Even included complimentary breakfasts! Mike was extremely accommodating!
Mike couldn't have been more helpful!! We experienced true Southern Hospitality from everyone at the Quality Inn and everyone at the Holiday Inn.
Hotel was comfortable, clean, convenient. A great stay! Thank You Very Much!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    21
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
21
15
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

..is what saved the one night stay. Beautiful to behold. The rest of the stay very non-exciting and what you can expect from highway hotel. Positives: the room was big although not what I reserved. Clean and comfy beds, good location easy on easy off. Negatives: dinner was fair and had no prep or presentation. It was too late for us to explore so we had little choice. Bar small and loud. While we were eating a curtain rod set up came crashing down off the wall behind us. Pool was way over chlorinated. Fair work out room, only had cardio and some free weights. Breakfast was totally frozen and microwaved- confirmed by wait staff who explained their lack of cooking abilities. Again, what one could expect. Not sure if it was just our luck but we found none of the front desk to be either warm or accommodating. Oh we'll. as I read this probably should get a two star, but again, the fish tank saves it.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear DogfaceJones,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am pleased to read you like our comfortable beds. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide a unique experience to all our guests. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the condition of the facilities, hotel service received and food served. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNT POCONO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Reception was warm and welcoming. They even called our room to be sure we were pleased. Hotel has restaurant and bar on premises, but close to town and variety of restaurants and shops. Appreciated the coffee station always available in cozy lobby sitting area.

Room Tip: We had king room, spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Large room with 2 queen beds! My family & I were traveling south & stopped at this hotel. we liked the staff and the restuarant so much and were having such a great time we changed our plans and stayed an extra night! Kathy at the bar was great and Jennifer and Kelli at the front desk were very professional and sweet.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were very disappointed. Made a reservation for executive king but we were given regular king. Called the front desk, was told they could not move us. Checked our rate and we were being charged for the larger room. I had to argue to get my room price adjusted. She finally adjusted our rate to the rate for a standard king.

Bathroom was not great. Needs updating. Kind of icky.

All in all it was your typical highway hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Christine I,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience with your check-in. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided as we look into this matter. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is located right off the highway, in the middle of the mountains. The hotel was nice but a few things to note: there is no complimentary breakfast. They do have a restaurant but we didn't try it. Also in the lobby they have coffee and tea. They have disposal cups, but there are no covers! It's almost like they want you to go into their restaurant. I just wanted to take a coffee to go, so we could start driving and not stop for a few hours. It is a bit risky taking a coffee with no cover.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Room was clean and larger than I expected. This hotel was mid point to where we went on vacation and we liked it so much that we stayed there again on the way back. Staff were very nice and dinner room service and breakfast were both reasonably priced and good. I'll stay there again when I am in that area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke

Address: 450 Litchell Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Salem hotel is Salem, Virginia s exclusive full service hotel. Our brand new facility is conveniently located just off Interstate-81 at exit 137, in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We are minutes away from the following businesses and attractions: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Civic Center, Moyer Complex, and many more. Holiday Inn Salem will pleasantly surprise you with its gourmet Southern Seasons Restaurant, Sunny s Lounge with full menu service, free wireless high-speed Internet in public areas and guest rooms, Jacuzzi suites, fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub, on-site guest laundry facility, room service, fax/copy service, and 2400 square feet of meeting space. All of our guest rooms feature a refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and coffeemaker. The Holiday Inn Salem is the perfect choice for so many reasons. We cannot wait to welcome you to Holiday Inn Salem! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke Hotel Salem
Salem Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.