We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Litchell Rd, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Salem
New York City, New York
1 review
“Everything was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My family an I had a wonderful time staying at the hotel. The room we stayed in was very clean. The resturant was delightful an food was delicious. My boys were looking forward to the pool which honestly i wasn't so excited about but the pool area was very clean an safe. I got to relax in the whirlpool as they swam. The front desk staff was very friendly an made my family feel right at home not to mention the directions i was given couldnt of been better. If we ever get back to Salem Va this will definetly be the hotel for us. Thanks so much for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
23
16
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
salem
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My family stays in the Roanoke area several times a year... This was our first time staying at the Holiday Inn Salem and it was great! The staff was so friendly and even helped us in preparation for our next hotel. The room was quite, neat and clean. The rate was much lower than I would have expected... We stay at Holiday Inn's all over the US and have found this to be one of the nicest so far.... Thumbs up! PS The restaurant has great Steaks!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

Had confirmation number and in person promise at 1pm that room would be there for us if we didn't get back until after midnight. Samantha at the front desk assured us. GM Sonny Patel canceled our reservation, gave our room to someone else AND charged our credit card! When we returned to the hotel 12 hours later, Doris said
Our GM canceled your reservation earlier today so we do not have a room for you. 1am! DO NOT Plan To Stay here or be left out in the COLD!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed in this Holiday Inn one night on our way to Tennessee. The overall condition of the hotel was not the best. The price was $30. higher( same 2 double bed room) than a lovely Holiday Inn Express in Harrisonburg, Va. that we stayed in coming home from Tennessee. With the scare of bed bugs in the past few years, we always check our sheets and bedding now. We didn't find bed bugs, but to our surprise, we found stains, long hair and short hair on the sheets. We notified the front desk immediately and one of the personnel at the front desk promptly went back and changed the sheets themselves. We appreciated their attention to the matter, but still felt a little grossed out by the whole experience. We would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I booked a non smoking room and ended up with a room that had been "sanitized", but by the hour the smoke came back from the cushions.
The wallpaper is coming off the wall and the carpet is burned from cigarette butts.
Go to the YMCA - it's better!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clayville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My wife and I were going south to stay for a week. The Holiday Inn was a great place to stay. The room was great and the area was easy to get around. I will stay there again, because it was so easy to get to.

tom

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here while driving through VA on our way to AZ. Location is OK, about 15 min to Roanoke. Breakfast buffet not worth the $7.95. I paid $99 for a room with two queen beds.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke

Address: 450 Litchell Rd, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Salem hotel is Salem, Virginia s exclusive full service hotel. Our brand new facility is conveniently located just off Interstate-81 at exit 137, in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We are minutes away from the following businesses and attractions: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Civic Center, Moyer Complex, and many more. Holiday Inn Salem will pleasantly surprise you with its gourmet Southern Seasons Restaurant, Sunny s Lounge with full menu service, free wireless high-speed Internet in public areas and guest rooms, Jacuzzi suites, fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub, on-site guest laundry facility, room service, fax/copy service, and 2400 square feet of meeting space. All of our guest rooms feature a refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and coffeemaker. The Holiday Inn Salem is the perfect choice for so many reasons. We cannot wait to welcome you to Holiday Inn Salem! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke Hotel Salem
Salem Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Salem/Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.