We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great steaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billy's Barn Restaurant & Lounge

Billy's Barn Restaurant & Lounge
1790 Thompson Memorial Dr., Salem, VA
540-728-0270
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 83 Restaurants in Salem
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: Established in 1969, Billy's Barn has long been a favorite of locals and travelers alike. We offer friendly service and delicious meals at an affordable price. Our philosophy is to welcome you to our restaurant with a genuine appreciation of your business. Come see old friends, or make new ones!
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Out of tthe way local place,but the food and prices were great! Its a little dark but the service was good

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great local spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

If you're looking for a nice local spot, this is a great place to try. The family that owns this owned it "back in the day" and just recently brought it back to life.
One unique feature is that there are two distinct sides to Billy's Barn. When you walk in you chose to go to the right, which is the restaurant side (with a small, but full bar) or to the left, which is a full bar side complete with dance floor, stage for bands, DJ booth, and so on.
The food is good, the servers tend to be really nice, and management is spot-on.
This is definitely a place to go see live music. One really great service they offer is a van/shuttle service within a reasonable distance. Very cool.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Va
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“All around amazing! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stopped here on a whim tonight having recently moved to Salem and let me tell you it was AMAZING. Ashley was our server and she was by far the best server I have ever had. The food was absolutely delicious and you could tell it was made fresh. If you are thinking of stopping here then you definitely need to because you won't be disappointed. We will DEFINITELY be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Little Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Needed to get off I-81, to eat, after driving for 7 hours, saw this place and thought what the heck, getting out of the car, we began speaking to this man, about the restaurant, he didn't boast or anything, he just said if you are hungry and you like great food, you have come to the right place, come to find out he was Billy!!! Our service was great, our portions over the top, decor cozy, and everyone else downright friendly!!! We had nachos as an appetizer, they make their own nachos, we had a delish salad, ribs, it was terrific!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

As you can imagine a place called Billy's Barn does not have a exquisite ambiance, but the food is well worth a visit. Recommended by the front desk at the La Quinta nearby we had some excellent pork chops, with apple dressing and pulled pork sandwich. The bowl of chili my husband started out with would have been enough.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy's Barn Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Billy's Barn Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy's Barn Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.