We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price, great spot to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macado's

Macado's
211 E. Main Street, Salem, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 83 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Huge variety sit down sandwich / sub shop, regional chain.
Salem, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“For the price, great spot to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is one of our go-to spots. They have a lovely outdoor sitting area, a crowded indoor restaurant, and a nice raised bar area with seating. We almost always sit at one of the tables in bar area unless it is too crowded or if we're with the family (no-one under 21 allowed in the bar area).
The food is good but not spectacular. What is really good here is that you get a good amount of food for a fair cost. Hence why it is one of our go-to spots. As with most restaurants the serving portions are getting smaller, especially on sides like fries, and that is a bummer, but still .. for the cost, it is good. They have nightly specials which are pretty decent and kids eat free on Tuesdays.
Routinely throughout the year they offer holiday themed drink specials with glasses that you get to take home. The Halloween ones are the best.
This place backs up to the local college so expect a lot of college kids, both in general and as employees. Which means that service can be REAL hit or miss. This is one reason we always sit in the bar area, the bartenders tend to be better than the servers, especially once they've gotten to know you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    26
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, Maine
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were promptly seated when we entered Macado's. Our server, Victoria, came right over and took our order for drinks and they were quickly served. We found the menu to be quite extensive with lots of choices that sounded really good. We all ordered a different sandwich and all of them were terrific. We ordered cheesecake for dessert that was yummy. If we lived near here we would definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“UNDERWHELMED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

By far, this was the worst service my friends and I have ever experienced on an outing. The waitress's personality was lukewarm--no personality to say--as we began our meal, no napkins, while everyone around us appeared to have napkins and a waitress who was very attentive--ours finally checked back 1/2 through our meal--food was so-so, service was bad enough to say that we will NOT return,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Quesoooo Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Not a bad place to eat in Salem. The queso was just the right amount of spicy and a great deal at half off. While the French onion soup had a bit too much worsteshire sauce, the broccoli cheese was tasty and the Caesar salad was enjoyable. Service was attentive. Atmosphere was comfortable. I liked the outdoor patio at night. It was romantic and quiet. More of a college hangout, but good for adults, too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rip Off Alert”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Food is decent until you ask for Ranch on the side and the server fails to tell you for a tiny container of ranch you are going to be charger 75.c for it. I mean..c'mon that is half the cost of an actual bottle and at least tell me the cost instead of just bringing it--you lost a lot of my business because of this

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macado's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.