We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macado's

Macado's
211 E. Main Street, Salem, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 83 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American
Description: Huge variety sit down sandwich / sub shop, regional chain.
Restaurant details
Description: Huge variety sit down sandwich / sub shop, regional chain.
Farmingdale, Maine
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were promptly seated when we entered Macado's. Our server, Victoria, came right over and took our order for drinks and they were quickly served. We found the menu to be quite extensive with lots of choices that sounded really good. We all ordered a different sandwich and all of them were terrific. We ordered cheesecake for dessert that was yummy. If we lived near here we would definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“UNDERWHELMED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

By far, this was the worst service my friends and I have ever experienced on an outing. The waitress's personality was lukewarm--no personality to say--as we began our meal, no napkins, while everyone around us appeared to have napkins and a waitress who was very attentive--ours finally checked back 1/2 through our meal--food was so-so, service was bad enough to say that we will NOT return,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Quesoooo Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Not a bad place to eat in Salem. The queso was just the right amount of spicy and a great deal at half off. While the French onion soup had a bit too much worsteshire sauce, the broccoli cheese was tasty and the Caesar salad was enjoyable. Service was attentive. Atmosphere was comfortable. I liked the outdoor patio at night. It was romantic and quiet. More of a college hangout, but good for adults, too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rip Off Alert”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Food is decent until you ask for Ranch on the side and the server fails to tell you for a tiny container of ranch you are going to be charger 75.c for it. I mean..c'mon that is half the cost of an actual bottle and at least tell me the cost instead of just bringing it--you lost a lot of my business because of this

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food and Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I go there quite often but lately the food has been better than ever and the service staff has definitely improved! All their sandwiches are good and always fresh!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macado's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.