We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quesoooo Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macado's

Macado's
211 E. Main Street, Salem, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 87 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Huge variety sit down sandwich / sub shop, regional chain.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
271 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Quesoooo Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad place to eat in Salem. The queso was just the right amount of spicy and a great deal at half off. While the French onion soup had a bit too much worsteshire sauce, the broccoli cheese was tasty and the Caesar salad was enjoyable. Service was attentive. Atmosphere was comfortable. I liked the outdoor patio at night. It was romantic and quiet. More of a college hangout, but good for adults, too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    33
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rip Off Alert”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Food is decent until you ask for Ranch on the side and the server fails to tell you for a tiny container of ranch you are going to be charger 75.c for it. I mean..c'mon that is half the cost of an actual bottle and at least tell me the cost instead of just bringing it--you lost a lot of my business because of this

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food and Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I go there quite often but lately the food has been better than ever and the service staff has definitely improved! All their sandwiches are good and always fresh!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stopped in this restaurant during our 4th of July trip to visit relatives. They have a large menu with whatever type of sandwiches you desire. The full service bar with local beers on draft was an added surprise. All the food we ordered was good and the beer was very cold. This coupled with the friendly service made for a good outing for the entire group. I would recommend a visit while visiting Salem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“So good we went twice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Located in the old part of town close to College of Roanoke - my daughter and I ate here twice while she was in a goalie camp. First visit was sit down, second visit take out. Menu is super extensive - something for everyone. Focus is on ALL kinds of sandwiches. They have more than 30 to choose from. Also have burgers, tenders - pub type food. Decent selection of beer on draft/bottle. Great place to watch a game. Seem to have some nightly specials. Service is college kids but very friendly and efficient. Good prices.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macado's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.