We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent food, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Denny"s

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Denny"s
2039 W Main St, Salem, VA 24153-3131
540-389-5074
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 83 Restaurants in Salem
Restaurant details
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“decent food, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We ate here late one night . Our waiter was courteous, speedy, and friendly. The food came out quick and was good quality.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    4
    3
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
not2batoney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great place to stop ...esp. late night. Open all night. Friendly staff. Clean. A+++++++++++++++++++++++++

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An average Denny's and that's ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Service was good. We ate off the senior menu and it was plenty and not bad. I was surprised that on Friday evening there were so few people eating there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candor, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our dinner at Denny's in Salem, VA was the highlight of our overnight stay there. Our server was fantastic and all of the staff extremely friendly. The food was delicious and if you left there hungry, it was your own fault!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Denny's In Salem, VA. " A Great Late Night Stop "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Have eaten at this Denny's Restaurant twice in the last 3 weeks between midnite and 3am. Both times they did not disappoint. They serve a full menu of breakfast, lunch, and dinner items 24/7.

They seem to have only a hostess/waitress and a manager/cook working 3rd. shift, but with a little patience on the customers part, you will be well taken care of. Have the portions to be generous on both visits, and the waitress kept me well (and often) suppiled with Pepsi refills!

Since they are a short distance off Interstate 81, At Salem, VA. Wildwood Exit, they make a perfect "Late Night or Early Morning Stop" for a hungry traveler on I-81.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denny"s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denny"s, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.