We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to freeway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Salem
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“close to freeway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Rooms are average size;one thing I did not like was that the vanity and sink were in the open, right in front of the door, no privacy at all! The bathroom light was one of those energy saver; you could barely see anything when you first turn it on! My advice, turn it on about 5 minutes before you decide to go to the bathroom! Breakfast was O.K. but could be better: sausage with gravy, biscuits, bagels, toast, make your own waffles, little muffins, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereals. No meat of any kind, unless you count the one mixed with the gravy. Rooms are a little noisy, people upstairs sounded like they were running around the room with clogs on! Overall it was O.K. for the money we paid ($89.00 per night with internet discount).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    90
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
161
71
36
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

I spend at least 2 overnights in Salem/Roanoke area a month and fell in love with the La Quinta the first time I stayed there. The people and rooms are very friendly and clean. This was my 4th visit and I decided to let others know about a good thing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Irwin, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

It is unfortunate the last reviewer had such a rotten stay, but that happens sometimes, no matter what hotel you stay in. As a frequent business traveler they should know that. We also travel frequently (business and leisure) and this is our third hotel in the past week. I found this hotel to be clean, comfortable (beds), and recently remodeled. We choose La Quinta when we can because we know we can have our dogs, so we understand when there are dogs barking sometimes. We are on the first floor and yes, it is a bit noisy when people (children in particular) are upstairs. But, having a 5 year old, I understand it's not always easy to keep them from being kids. We may be more vigilant then other parents though when we are above someone else. Overall, we have had a good experience here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I travel out to Salem on business every year, and have been doing so for the last ten years. I used to stay at the Baymont Inn, and then it got taken over by La Quinta. I booked a room (not knowing what to expect) only because they had the same number as the old Baymont. Once I got there, I found the rooms to be very uncleanly. I decided to make the best of it, but then the air-conditioning broke in my room. I had to call them several times to get someone to come look it. After a few hours of trying to "fix" the AC, I was moved to another room (upgraded to one with a hot tub). The AC and fan in the new room worked, but was really loud. But what was even worse was the sound of dogs whining and barking through the night. Yes, folks -- DOGS!! They allow pets, and they actually put a business traveler right next door to someone with several dogs. I couldn't believe my ears, as I was awakened every hour or so by howling. In the morning, I was so upset that I told the front desk lately that it was THE WORST hotel stay I've ever had (and that says a lot, since I travel frequently). She took a percentage off the room, but the damage had been done. I will never, ever, ever go back to a La Quinta -- EVER!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I stayed at the La Quinta in Salem as a result of following all the gushing reviews I had read online. Perhaps I am used to a different quality or had higher expectations, but I was pretty disappointed in this hotel. First of all, I could hear the TV in the room next to me on one side, the voices of people on the other side, and the person overhead sounded like a hyperactive elephant walking back and forth continually at 6:30 am. In other words, the rooms are not very soundproof - even with the AC fan on high; I could hear everything. When I wanted to know the times for the pool or breakfast, or the location of the ice machine, the brochure always noted to call the main desk. Why not just list them somewhere??? The shower "room" was very dark and the toilet flushed extremely loudly. Breakfast was the worst "continental" I have had - with watered down orange juice, watered down coffee - not even real milk or cream, but the powdered stuff, and flavorless sausage gravy. While I sat in the dining area, an employee spoke loudly about the "rich" college students in Salem - and how their parents don't know what they are doing and that perhaps she should consider buying real estate to rent to the rich families. I should have said something, but didn't.... I am the parent of a Roanoke College Student and definitely NOT rich. I didn't like hearing this at all. After I checked out, I looked into some other hotels in the area. For $5 - $10 more, you get a better breakfast with a much more pleasant environment. I do not plan to return. But, hey - it's cheap, so if you are willing to sacrifice quality - go for it. I was definitely not impressed with any of it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I had to drive to Ohio, over to Eastern PA and then back home to NC last week and had the pleasure and good fortune of spending a night in the La Quita @ 140 Sheraton Drive in Salem, VA. I'm 60 years old, was traveling alone and felt very safe there. Their extra security measures were very comforting and much more than at other hotels I've visited.

The staff treated me like family, the room was spotless and I've never seen a cleaner bathroom and living area. After a swim in their great outside pool area, I took a bath. I NEVER take a bath in a hotel, only a shower. That bathroom was clean enough to eat off the floor so I made an exception to my rule with no reluctance. The bed and bedding is like sleeping on a cloud, I slept a full 8 hours, which I never do, not even at home. The room had everything I needed, plus some. Everything was so wonderful. I slept like a baby and everyone there was so kind and very helpful, I hated to leave.

I usually shoot out of hotels as soon as the sun come up, but not this time. I didn't leave til 10 a.m. and that was only because your employees told me about the great farmer's market in Salem.

When I finally decided to leave I was going to grab something to eat on the way out the door. The day clerk, Dorothy, suggested I sit down and eat breakfast instead and she was right. I had a 4 hour drive ahead of me and I needed that great breakfast to get my day started right. She seemed like an old friend to me by the time I left. The food served and the cleanliness of the eating area was excellant. Everyone is super there.

I don't know who does the hiring for LaQuinta but they sure have a talent for hiring great people. I would encourage everyone to visit this hotel. The rates are very reasonable and I've paid a whole lot more for a whole lot less at other hotel chains. I look forward to staying there again.

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I have stayed at multiple LaQuinta's, they are consistently good but this one is far and above the best of all the other La Quinta's we have stayed at.
The staff is outstanding, the rooms are spotless as is the lobby and the breakfast is also not only good but the cleanliness of the eatung area is better than a restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Address: 140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn in Salem VA is a newly remodeled, indoor corridor property, close to I-81 exit 141. We offer comp. breakfast, WI-FI, pool, fitness center, bus. center and micro fridges in all rooms. Great property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem Hotel Salem
La Quinta Salem
Baymont Inn Salem
Salem La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.