We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience Ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Experience Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

I travel for business, so I regularly stay at this hotel. It was actually a Baymont Inn before, so I'd been staying there every time I came to the area. When it changed to La Quinta, however, it went downhill in quality. This last visit was the worst, by far, because I woke up multiple times in the middle of the night to sounds of dogs barking....multiple dogs. They were right next door to me, and I could hear them all through the night. In the morning, I was grumpy and had not gotten any sleep. I told the lady at the front desk that I had not had a pleasant stay. She kept saying they can't do anything about the dog owners, and I kept telling her that was not the problem. The PROBLEM was that they should have a designated area for pets. I am allergic to pet dander, and so I feel like I should have been asked if it was okay to put me in a room that had obviously previously been occupied by dogs. I also think they should have put me away from multiple dog owners. It's not the fact that they allow dogs; it's the fact that they haven't yet figured out how to accomodate dog owners AND business travelers who don't want to be woken up all through the night by dog sounds. Making matters even worse, the front desk lady said she would take ten bucks of my bill! And she said it as though she was doing me some hug favor!

A few months ago, I had problems with the air conditioning. I didn't have this problem this last time. But the dogs barking was far worse than no AC.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    103
    27
    11
    9
See reviews for
177
83
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Stayed here while traveling through. Nice place, renovations complete. Nothing wrong with this stay. The staff was quick, attentive, friendly. Great service. The only minor hiccup I had was: went into my non-smoking room and the place obviously was used by a smoker who didn't care about the rules. Informed the management and they reassigned me a true non-smoking room in about 3 nanoseconds. They knew I had a dog and gave me a room on the first floor near the end of the hall where the door is to the outside grass...very nice. Burger king right nearby, close to interstate, the downtown area seemed nice, about 3.5 miles away. Nice place.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Disliked — Kinda far away from city
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

They still had a few rooms to renovate when we were there August 20, 2008. We heard no noise from workmen until maybe 8 AM and that was minimal. I almost thought this was a brand new hotel the renovation is so complete. Very nice modern furniture – more imaginative than in most hotels. Good size fridge and microwave. Did hear a few footsteps from the room above but only once. Hopefully you won’t have an excessively noisy neighbor.

The bed was very good and the room spotless. The a/c unit quiet. They were a little slow on putting out hardboiled eggs at breakfast so maybe ask the person staffing the breakfast area if you don’t see any. Also a bit slow on replacing yogurt containers. One of the waffle makers was out of order but that is probably fixed. Breakfast is a bit better than just the “expanded continental.” Only a few tables in the breakfast area. I guess you could take it back to your room which is normal size for this type of hotel.

When coming from the interstate their sign is very easy to miss. Just turn right at the first traffic light. There is a large gas station there and follow the road a few hundred feet to the right and you are there.

About a mile farther into the town is a shopping center with a CVS, supermarket, simple but nice restaurant and a gas station that had cheaper gas than the one by the hotel.

I think this would be a good choice unless you are looking for something much more fancy.

  • Liked — excellent renovation
  • Disliked — hard to see sign from the road
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We like to stay at La Quintas because of their pet-friendly policy. This particular hotel is undergoing renovations; still, the room was a bit small and the hotel as a whole not as nice as some other La Quintas we've stayed in, but in this area it's hard to find decent lodgings when you have a pet. The staff was very nice, however, and our room was one of the "dog" rooms on the first floor near the exit, so it was easy to take him out and walk him. The breakfast was just an okay continental style breakfast; the only protein available were hard-cooked eggs. The waffles were good, and they had yogurt available as well.

  • Liked — Pet-friendly policy
  • Disliked — Room small and a bit tired
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

We found this hotel on TripAdvisor for a layover to another destination. Considering it is off a major interstate, I went with low expectations, despite the pretty good reviews. I was happy to find the hotel staff was pleasant and accommodating, and the room exceeded my expectations. The room was immaculate, large and had a nice size refrigerator. The bathroom was also new and clean. My request for non-down pillows was fulfilled immediately. Definitely not a vacation spot, but would recommend this hotel highly for the piece of mind and cleanliness.

  • Liked — Free Wifi in the room
  • Disliked — Free breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

I recently visited the Salem, Virginia area for a wedding. I chose the La Quinta because of the great reviews but found out they weren't so great after all. This hotel is still under renovation and has men workers on every floor doing painting, drilling, demolition of rooms etc. at all times of the day and night. We found this an unpleasant site and the noise was sometimes unbearable. I was informed during my stay the renovations have been continued for almost 1 year, this is ridiculous and should not be allowed to be open for business during this time. The rates were very high for the accomadations provided. The good points were the friendly front desk personnel who were full of good local information on things to do in the area. Housekeeping was good and provided us with everything to meet our needs. I have family in the area, but I will choose another hotel next time I visit Salem.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — construction and price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

I was told at the front desk this La Quinta Inn used to be the Baymont Inn and is currently being remodled. My daughter and I checked in late on a Saturday night after having left a local Hojo's due to a terrible room and experience. The front desk clerk was very kind and accommodating. She even discounted our room when she heard about our encounter at the other motel. Our room was large and most importantly, clean! The king size bed was huge and very comfortable. The microwave and fridge were a nice bonus. My daughter liked the wood laminate flooring in our room. They offered a continental breakfast the next morning, but due to our time constraints we just grabbed some fruit on the way out. I hope to stay here again when we're back in town for other softball tournaments.

  • Liked — clean room, helpful staff
  • Disliked — can't think of anything I didn't like
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Address: 140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn in Salem VA is a newly remodeled, indoor corridor property, close to I-81 exit 141. We offer comp. breakfast, WI-FI, pool, fitness center, bus. center and micro fridges in all rooms. Great property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem Hotel Salem
La Quinta Salem
Baymont Inn Salem
Salem La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.