We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Salem
Menifee, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quiet and Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Located right off highway. Easy in and out of parking lot. We were on a cross country RV trip and wanted to spend a night at a La Quinta. This one looked new. Used our points for a free night. It was easy to park our car & trailer. Staff was very friendly. Even though our room was next to breakfast lounge we didn't hear a sound in the morning. Nice big TV. Slept well & refreshed. Selling our trailer.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    92
    22
    11
    8
See reviews for
164
73
36
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Of all the La Quinta Inns and Suites my wife and I have stayed in during our travels, this was, by far, the most accommodating Inn. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is NON-smoking throughout. The breakfast is standard Hotel fare...nothing spectacular. In all, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The staff made us and our dogs feel at home. Room was very clean and had no odors from previous pets.
The availability of coffee and tea all day long was very welcome after a long day on the road.,
The lady who set up breakfast was a delight. Unfortunately I didn't get her name.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend. The check-in process was smooth, and the front desk staff were friendly. However, within an hour of checking in to our room, we found a bed bug. We immediately called the front desk and notified them, and they sent up someone to our room from the desk. The guy that was sent up was way too nonchalant about the situation. He said we could either stay in the room or upgrade to the only room that was available for an additional $30/night. If it had not been a booked up Hokie football weekend, we would have just gone to another hotel. We decided to upgrade to the other room, which thankfully, they decided not to charge us for.

Upon checkout, I was asked if we would like to pay for our stay with "the American Express card on file." I booked the room online and paid in full using a Discover card a month prior to our stay, and I never gave them any credit card when checking in...

Overall, the hotel was average and overpriced. The staff was friendly enough but didn't seem very competent in how to handle certain situations. I cannot give a hotel any more than 2 stars if I find any trace of bed bugs. A live one was enough evidence for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6269, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay with us in the original room. Rest assured, we had our exterminator come in and checked the "bug" it was NOT A BED BUG she says they are only found in dark places like mattresses, not on the ceiling where it is very bright. Our hotel is exterminated on a routine basis. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target situations that can be avoided in the future. This gives us an opportunity to improve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We travel with a lot with our dogs as they compete in dock jumping, so we stay at a lot of different dog friendly hotels. LaQuinta has always had the cleanest rooms and the most updated hotels. We stay at these hotels even if there is one a little closer to the venue we are competing at. We appreciate the free breakfast since it is impossible to eat at a restaurant with the dogs! Most of all, and I can't stress this enough, we appreciate the cleanliness and the fact that we always feel welcome with our dogs. This hotel was no different, everything was modern, the staff was more than friendly, and most of all, everything was clean. We enjoyed our stay very much and will stay here again for this event next year, even though it is about 12 minutes away and there are other pet friendly hotels within walking distance of this event. I'd prefer to drive a little for quality and cleanliness, and to know my dogs are truly welcome!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My father was very I'll and in the hospital...the management went above and beyond to ensure that my needs were meant while I was staying at this hotel..the rooms were clean and the staff made sure I had everything I needed. Great experience while I was going through such a difficult time with my father...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Address: 140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn in Salem VA is a newly remodeled, indoor corridor property, close to I-81 exit 141. We offer comp. breakfast, WI-FI, pool, fitness center, bus. center and micro fridges in all rooms. Great property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem Hotel Salem
La Quinta Salem
Baymont Inn Salem
Salem La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.