We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at La Quinta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Salem
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great stay at La Quinta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had two rooms for two nights at La Quinta in Salem. The hotel had just had a refresh and it was very nice. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. We had a connecting room and wanted to use the connection, the bolt was broken and the hotel responded quickly and corrected the problem.
This La Quinta has no blankets on the bed (sheet and cover only) which was unusual. I would have preferred a blanket.
Nice Breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    96
    22
    11
    8
See reviews for
170
75
36
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Needed a hotel along I81 where we could stay with our dog. We didn't have high expectations. We were pleased to read La Quinta would accept the dog staying in our room, no special requirements, for free. And even more pleased when we got to the hotel. This place is extremely clean, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, the room was nice, and the bed was really comfortable! It's conveniently right off of I-81, and has a Burger King/Gas Station in walking distance. There was ample grass in the area for walking the dog, and most people had cleaned up nicely after their pets. The breakfast was basic typical free breakfast fare - and happily the breakfast area was impeccably maintained and there was plenty of everything and it was fresh. The make your own waffle machine was in perfect condition, very clean and nicely set up. The attendant was welcoming and helpful. Even my teen aged son commented on how nice everyone was to us. We are La Quinta fans! I would choose to stay there again in a second even without our dog.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the last couple of years. We travel with two dogs and always stay at the LaQuinta Hotels wherever we travel because of their pet friendliness and nice rooms. Each time we stayed at this property we were greeted in the warmest manner. The staff always makes us feel welcome and will go out fo their way to assure a great stay. The rooms are very comfortable and absolutely spotless, every time. The beds and bedding are good quality and are very comfortable to sleep in. The new expansion in their brekfast area was almost finished when we did stay in March. A great use of space and the finishing touches were about to be done. The selection of food is good, anyone can find something they like. The attention of the staff at breakfast is great and super friendly. We will stay here again and can recommend this hotel for travelers that want a great place to stay, it is a great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Surprisingly good for a chain that has had a less than great track record with me. Stayed at this location while on recent business and was pleasantly surprised. Rooms appeared to have been recently updated - fresh beds and bedding, new flat screen TV, in room heater was really quiet. Clean, comfortable and on a budget - a very good choice. For those of you that are snow birds on the I-81 corridor, this hotel is pet friendly!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room - NOT next to the exercise room on the second floor :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our experience at this facility was the best we've had in many years at a hotel. All the personnel were very congenial and helpful. They seemed happy to have us as their guests. It was a joy to be made to feel so special!! The breakfast area was nice & clean....food great. Rooms clean & beds comfortable. Will definitely stay at this location again if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was impressed with this La Quinta. Our room had a microwave and fridge, in addition to a very new (very nice!) TV and a comfortable bed. The room was clean and well-maintained. The hotel also featured a good complementary breakfast, which was staffed by possibly the sweetest, most friendly woman ever!

There are only two not perfectly positive things to say. First, the internet seemed to drop in and out a few times one night. When we called down to mention it, the front desk called us back when the internet was restored--what great service! The other thing was that they didn't appear to have a fitness center, though I could be wrong. Would've been nice to get a little work out in when we snowed in! Overall, this is a great hotel conveniently located off I-81. We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I arrived late one night when the tow truck driver who towed my vehicle off the interstate recommended this place as one that allowed pets. Wondering what I would be getting in to, I was more than pleasantly surprised.
Desk staff was unbelievably welcoming and hospitable, letting me know that we were 1 of 3 pug families staying there for the night. As we talked, one of the other pugs, along with his masters, came out of the elevator. Everyone ooooddddd and aaaahhhhhdddd over the pugs.
The desk clerk put me on the 3rd floor, the quietest part of the hotel, he said. The room was more than ample and clean as could be with all the fixin's: microwave, big-screen TV, free wifi, and very soft towels!
Unfortunately, I did not make breakfast, but the in-room coffee maker functioned perfectly well, and I snaagged a banana before they put everything away in the lobby.
Price was great!
As to Ms. Buckeye82? You prolly want the Ritz Carlton next time.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Address: 140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn in Salem VA is a newly remodeled, indoor corridor property, close to I-81 exit 141. We offer comp. breakfast, WI-FI, pool, fitness center, bus. center and micro fridges in all rooms. Great property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem Hotel Salem
La Quinta Salem
Baymont Inn Salem
Salem La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.