We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place around for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Slidell, LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best place around for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at La Quinta in Salem, VA after a drive from Louisiana. I came in very late at night, the hotel was right off the Interstate, the front desk people were awesome, and got me right into a room. The rooms were clean, modern, and the bed was really comfortable. I slept like a rock. The place has secured parking with cameras, and there were cameras in the hotel. My check out was effortless, the free breakfast was good, and I will stay here next time I come through. Great hotel.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    114
    33
    11
    10
See reviews for
194
89
44
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our first time at a La Quinta and it was very good experience. We will probably have the chance to stay here again, and I will now consider La Quinta in other locations as well. The staff were very friendly accommodating from start to finish, and had no problem w/our Priceline reservation. The location is right off 81, but we didn't have an issue with noise. It is about 3 minutes drive from Roanoke College in Salem.

We were able to choose a room on the 3rd floor, away from the pet floor. We don't have a problem with pets, actually I think it's great they accommodate pets, but we weren't interested in hearing any barking or getting in the way of any dog fights. I did, however, forget to request a room that doesn't not adjoin another, which would probably be an issue in the evening depending on the neighbors. Ours were quiet until the morning. One can hear the next door neighbor loud and clear through the joining door.

Our room was clean and up-to-date. The pillowtop mattresses were quiet and comfortable - the linen was clean and fresh. Two minor issues were a lack of lighting and one side of one of the beds does not have a table. This is probably because the room is on the small side for two double beds. A nice plus were the refrigerator and microwave, and free wi-fi. Why don't higher end hotels provide this? Who knows, but it's extremely convenient.

The bathroom consists of a toilet and the bathtub, which was convenient for us, since we were a party of three. The large sink is by the door, which makes it tricky when you're trying to use the mirror while someone else needs to leave the room.

The breakfast area consists of several tables and a large television. The breakfast served was both hot (biscuits & gravy; a waffle machine) and cold (cereals, bagels, etc.) , and constantly attended by a very friendly staff person. The coffee was free and hot, so what more could you ask?

I recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay here again, especially with a great priceline deal.

Room Tip: Rooms without an adjoining door; room away from pet floor if you don't have a pet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have been at this motel several times and have always been pleased with the cleanliness
and service. They have expanded the breakfast area which is a big plus. The general manager
is very friendly and welcoming. We will return!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our first time ever at a La Quinta and it was very pleasant. Desk clerk was polite and friendly, breakfast woman was very friendly and cared that we had what we wanted. Another desk clerk that checked us out set us up to have the same room on our way home. We were travelling with 3 Labs. It was truly a joy to find a hotel that did not charge us extra for our very well-behaved dogs or restrict us on number or size of dogs. Our dogs are clean and polite house-dogs and it was great to have a hotel that respected that. We requested and got a ground floor room and there is a nice grassy spot out the side door. We saw numerous other dogs and there was no barking at night. The room was a little small, but clean and comfortable and 100% smoke free. Very pleased, will be staying there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed overnight on our way to visit our Son and Family. We decided to use the Free night Points and called a hour or two ahead to reserve the room. The person we spoke to on the phone was very friendly and knew what he was doing. When we arrived, we were met with a friendly young man and everything was ready for us to check in. The room was warm, clean and comfortable. We have found that any Laquinta we have stayed at is reasonably priced and the free breakfast saves us money as well. It doesn't hurt either that we signed up for free and earn points every time we stay that add up for a free night. You can't ask for more than that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here with my dog in mid-January. Very friendly, welcoming front desk personnel, room large, clean and comfortable, breakfast adequate. Breakfast room under construction but it did not hinder our stay at all, they just moved breakfast down the hall, and were very apologetic. The lady who I assume is the owner/manager was especially warm and friendly. Glad they have those large signs sticking up in the air or I might not have found it at night. Highly recommend this La Quinta.

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor, elevators diagonally across the hall. Only noise was occasional barkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I enjoyed my stay very much. The staff was very friendly. The rate was average. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. They had even preheated my room for me, which was nice considering that I had been outdoors in the cold all day.

FYI: The motel is currently under construction; however, this had no impact on my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem

Address: 140 Sheraton Dr, Salem, VA 24153
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn in Salem VA is a newly remodeled, indoor corridor property, close to I-81 exit 141. We offer comp. breakfast, WI-FI, pool, fitness center, bus. center and micro fridges in all rooms. Great property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem Hotel Salem
La Quinta Salem
Baymont Inn Salem
Salem La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.