We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
athens, georgia
1 review
“Consistent Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel consistently since it opened in the spring for business purposes averaging 10 or more nights per month. I have consistently received excellent customer service, fast check in, and a friendly welcome each time. I was baffled by a few of the negative reviews I have read here because I have spent over 100 nights at this hotel since its opening in April of 2009 and have never experienced incorrect billing or a rude manager. In fact, the service I have received has been so consistent and excellent the majority of business travellers for my company now stay at this hotel. For the price, the service can't be beat! We all experience an occasional bad hotel, restaurant, etc. That is to be expected. But after 100 nights to have not experienced it one time, that is exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtjordanatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Virgina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

After a night of 12 inches of snow, stranded on I-81 for 10 hours, being evacuated by the national gaurd and unable to arrive at the hotel to check in, dead cell phone, I was still charged for the room even though I've never even seen the place.

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank punchy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, VA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

I originally booked the room thru Expedia.com, and then my credit card was not just charged through Expedia but also the hotel separately. After numerous phone calls back to the Holiday Inn Express in Salem, VA, who assured us that this would be resolved once the Manager was available, our latest phone call to Janice Windger was unprofessional, rude, and refused to give us a phone number or name for a District Manager.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hofjp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lookout Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Nice queen size beds, spacious room; however, the curtains were not black-out, so if parking lot lights disturb you, this is a problem. Also, when we arrived, the heat was not working - the front desk guy knew the right combination for it, so it was quickly resolved. Breakfast was lovely and in a spacious dining area. Fabulous view of the mountains from the room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetonLookout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, AK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

I was travelling with my daughter in August 2009 when we found this hotel while looking at colleges. When we returned to the area to look at Roanoke College again, we were very excited to stay at this property a second time. The view from the hotel is everything to love about the Roanoke valley. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and rooms are clean. The hotel is new, but maintenence seems to be kept up so far. The outdoor pool was very nice and quiet in the summer. The continental breakfast is excellent- the best of all the hotels in our college search. The beds are very comfortable and the decor is absolutely beautiful. Definitely the nicest hotel in the area and within minutes of the college.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MomForCollegeSearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

I was very pleased with my stay. This hotel is located a little out of town but still very easy to get to Main St and the dining options around. The decor was nice and classic. Bedding was great. Breakfast was nice as well. I would have liked to have another option in the workout room instead of just bike & treadmill. Clean & quiet. Great stay!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eatdrinkdec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

After driving 6 hours we were warmly greeted at the front desk by Kathy. She made us feel very comfortable and welcomed. The view from the breakfast area was breath-taking of the mountains. The hotel rooms were clean, comfortable, and very accommodating. The complimentary breakfast was abundant. The addition of a hot tub at the pool was great. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff, including housekeeping, made us feel comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGno2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#4 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem East-Electric Road
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing