We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cleanest hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We spent one night here and were very pleased with our accommodations. This is a very clean and new hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bath towels were super soft and actually smaller freshly laundered! Breakfast was great with a large and nicely decorated dining area . We will return to this hotel!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear Searhorse,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel accommodations. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast service. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    55
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
88
43
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

As we traveled towards our trip to Bar Harbor, Maine we decided to take the scenic route. We stopped at this beautiful town with mountains overlooking the town. We stopped at the Holiday Inn Express. I would consider this one of the best of the best. Wonderful, spotless room. Reasonably priced and what a great nights sleep. We ask the desk clerk where was a good place to eat. The suggestion was Billy's Barn & Restaurant. We decided to ride through town to see what was available. There was another restaurant downtown but we turned back and went to Billy's. It was just a big red barn and when you walk inside there is a bar to sit at or tables and pool tables along with a stage for a live band. This was a Sunday so no band but that was ok. The bartender was fabulous. So friendly and made us welcome to her town. We ask her what was good to eat. She suggested their hamburgers. We weren't sure but we went for it. In my 57 years I have no had a better burger in my life! If I had no one to come home to, I think Salem, Virginia would be an awesome place to live. They get an A+ from me. I would go back. The breakfast was great in the morning also.

Room Tip: You won't regret staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear Cindy,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad you chose us for your hotel needs. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the hotel room. We strive to provide a great experience for everyone. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope that you will choose us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a drive-by stop that what exactly mid-way to our final destination. Anyhow, I do like HI Express hotels, for they give great Military Rates (frankly, they're always the same as their best rate). Anyhow, the hotel staff were great, friendly and helpful. The hotel and room were spotless. I asked for a pizza joint recommendation and the place (Lucky's at 300 E Main St) was simply excellent. The breakfast was the best that I've had at any HIE hotel. WiFi is free and available throughout the hotel. The hotel is just off the I 81 and there are restaurants and service stations close by. There's a Starbucks only 5 mins away and opens at 0600. The location is very quiet, yet close to absolutely everything. My child was extremely happy with the pool. I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear PBLD,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the staff, breakfast and pool area. We strive to provide a great place for everyone to stay. We hope you enjoyed Salem. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

If your looking for a clean hotel, in a safe area, with comfortable beds, friendly staff and good breakfast, then this is it. The breakfast was delicious and inviting. The decor, beds and bathroom were all fresh and neat. The only issues were that our refrigerator did not work, and we were unable to check in a little early. The kind lady at the front desk is very professional and nice. If we travel in the area again, we will stay here.

Room Tip: Do not try to check in early, call before you arrive to check the status of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear Luckygirl,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are glad that you enjoyed what the hotel has to offer. Thank you for telling us the issues you had with the refrigerator. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. We will pass this on to our maintenance staff. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

What a great place off 81S. We were driving down and needed a place to stay the night. Gail at front desk was very kind and helpful and got us a super clean great room quickly. Everything is fairly new so no need to worry about it being rundown. Rooms were quiet and there is a vending machine on the 2nd floor if you want snacks. The breakfast is great, there are pancakes, eggs, sausage, bacon, bagels, cereals, oatmeal, fruit and yogurts and tons of other things.
There is also an outdoor pool that has a great view of the mountain side. Overall what a great spot, I would highly recommend.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Some long time ago, I stopped staying at Holiday Inn properties. They had gotten to the place where they were dirty, poorly managed and all around just didn't provide a comfortable stay. I would have rather gone camping than to stay at Holiday Inn. HAVE THEY EVER CHANGED FOR THE BETTER!!! On a trip to Washington, we decided to try Holiday Inn properties again. We decided this basically because of the positive reviews. The staff was friendly and helpful (all the staff members); the room was very clean; the beds were very comfortable and they even had pillows to suit ones choice (firm/soft). Access from the highway was very easy. Breakfast was as good as one would receive at any Resturant. We will book Holiday Inn properties in the future. They even provided a crib for our grandson.

Room Tip: Clean and welcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We really appreciate your feedback. We are happy that you decided to give Holiday Inn another chance. Thanks for choosing us. We strive to provide a clean,safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Spent one night here while on a trip to Mt Airy and it was an enjoyable stay. Friendly staff at the front desk, the king bed suite was clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was great. The only problem we encountered was we experienced a slow processing time on the internet that night for an hour or so. We reported it to the front desk when we left, the gentleman at the desk apologized several times and promised he would check with the provider to see if they were experiencing any problems. Other than that we had a very enjoyable stay and if we are in the area again we will spend the night here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear duffey,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We really appreciate your feedback. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the internet service. We are very sorry for any inconvenience that you were caused. We will pass this feedback on to our tech staff. Feedback is very important to us. We use it to make changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests. Thanks for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.