We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Excellent. Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Excellent. Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Some long time ago, I stopped staying at Holiday Inn properties. They had gotten to the place where they were dirty, poorly managed and all around just didn't provide a comfortable stay. I would have rather gone camping than to stay at Holiday Inn. HAVE THEY EVER CHANGED FOR THE BETTER!!! On a trip to Washington, we decided to try Holiday Inn properties again. We decided this basically because of the positive reviews. The staff was friendly and helpful (all the staff members); the room was very clean; the beds were very comfortable and they even had pillows to suit ones choice (firm/soft). Access from the highway was very easy. Breakfast was as good as one would receive at any Resturant. We will book Holiday Inn properties in the future. They even provided a crib for our grandson.

Room Tip: Clean and welcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We really appreciate your feedback. We are happy that you decided to give Holiday Inn another chance. Thanks for choosing us. We strive to provide a clean,safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    53
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
86
42
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Spent one night here while on a trip to Mt Airy and it was an enjoyable stay. Friendly staff at the front desk, the king bed suite was clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was great. The only problem we encountered was we experienced a slow processing time on the internet that night for an hour or so. We reported it to the front desk when we left, the gentleman at the desk apologized several times and promised he would check with the provider to see if they were experiencing any problems. Other than that we had a very enjoyable stay and if we are in the area again we will spend the night here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear duffey,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We really appreciate your feedback. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the internet service. We are very sorry for any inconvenience that you were caused. We will pass this feedback on to our tech staff. Feedback is very important to us. We use it to make changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests. Thanks for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity Fl
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Found this hotel through a rest stop hotel magazine. The lady was kind & checked us in at the agreed rate advertised. The room large & clean. Beds comfortable. Breakfast was great with much to choose from. Very nice. Attendant as well. All in all , a very nice stop on our trip. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Sean,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad your enjoyed the hotel. Thanks for your comments about the room, and the breakfast. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here last week and was greeted by Robert at the front desk. Upon finding out that I was at the wrong Holiday Inn, he was able to get my reservation switched to this location. Clean rooms and somewhat comfy beds (had a 2 queen room), along with central a/c made this a pleasurable stay. Breakfast was nice with options for every diet.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear brettman_0,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our friendly staff. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accokeek, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I found this hotel through TripAdvisor. I booked to stay here because it had good reviews. We arrived early (check-in is at 3pm). They were not able to accommodate an early arrival, and did not have rooms available right at 3pm. We had to wait about 30 minutes for the room to be available. The room was clean, and the staff were helpful. The pool was well-kept and my kids enjoyed swimming. The breakfast was free and of good variety. My husband did not like the bed ("killed my back"). It was a good stay for an overnighter on our way to our final destination.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is easy to get to. Although our room was not ready when we checked in (after 3PM) it was within 15 minutes. The desk clerks were pleasant. We stayed in a king suite which was roomy but the bed definitely has seen better days. I used the exercise room and the bike seat does not lock in place which should be an easy fix. Breakfast was good...a very wide selection of items.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear BeachTraveler,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are very happy you chose us for your hotel needs. Thank you for mentioning your bed, and the exercise room. We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied. We will pass this valuable feedback on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock, illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed one night. The beds were comfy, room was clean. Nice hotel, the pool and hot tub were great at the end of a long day. Breakfast was great, the lady (I think her name was Christine) did a great job keeping everything stocked and fresh. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Bren,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. Thank you for mentioning the pool, and the breakfast service. We are so glad you enjoyed those things. We will pass your great comments about Christine on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.