We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Spent one night here while on a trip to Mt Airy and it was an enjoyable stay. Friendly staff at the front desk, the king bed suite was clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was great. The only problem we encountered was we experienced a slow processing time on the internet that night for an hour or so. We reported it to the front desk when we left, the gentleman at the desk apologized several times and promised he would check with the provider to see if they were experiencing any problems. Other than that we had a very enjoyable stay and if we are in the area again we will spend the night here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear duffey,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We really appreciate your feedback. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the internet service. We are very sorry for any inconvenience that you were caused. We will pass this feedback on to our tech staff. Feedback is very important to us. We use it to make changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests. Thanks for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    59
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
94
45
12
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trinity Fl
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Found this hotel through a rest stop hotel magazine. The lady was kind & checked us in at the agreed rate advertised. The room large & clean. Beds comfortable. Breakfast was great with much to choose from. Very nice. Attendant as well. All in all , a very nice stop on our trip. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Sean,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad your enjoyed the hotel. Thanks for your comments about the room, and the breakfast. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here last week and was greeted by Robert at the front desk. Upon finding out that I was at the wrong Holiday Inn, he was able to get my reservation switched to this location. Clean rooms and somewhat comfy beds (had a 2 queen room), along with central a/c made this a pleasurable stay. Breakfast was nice with options for every diet.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear brettman_0,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our friendly staff. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accokeek, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I found this hotel through TripAdvisor. I booked to stay here because it had good reviews. We arrived early (check-in is at 3pm). They were not able to accommodate an early arrival, and did not have rooms available right at 3pm. We had to wait about 30 minutes for the room to be available. The room was clean, and the staff were helpful. The pool was well-kept and my kids enjoyed swimming. The breakfast was free and of good variety. My husband did not like the bed ("killed my back"). It was a good stay for an overnighter on our way to our final destination.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, February 23, 2015
Dear DrValMo,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns about the hotel. We are very sorry that you husband didn't enjoy the bed. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. We will be sure to pass this feedback on to our hotel staff. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is easy to get to. Although our room was not ready when we checked in (after 3PM) it was within 15 minutes. The desk clerks were pleasant. We stayed in a king suite which was roomy but the bed definitely has seen better days. I used the exercise room and the bike seat does not lock in place which should be an easy fix. Breakfast was good...a very wide selection of items.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear BeachTraveler,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are very happy you chose us for your hotel needs. Thank you for mentioning your bed, and the exercise room. We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied. We will pass this valuable feedback on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock, illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed one night. The beds were comfy, room was clean. Nice hotel, the pool and hot tub were great at the end of a long day. Breakfast was great, the lady (I think her name was Christine) did a great job keeping everything stocked and fresh. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Bren,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. Thank you for mentioning the pool, and the breakfast service. We are so glad you enjoyed those things. We will pass your great comments about Christine on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

All I can say is everything, and I mean everything about our stay here was absolutely perfect. And it was an easy in and out from the hotel to and from the interstate. Several good restaurants nearby too, and Salem has a nice downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear James,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer. Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.