We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road Trip Overnighter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Salem
Accokeek, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Road Trip Overnighter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I found this hotel through TripAdvisor. I booked to stay here because it had good reviews. We arrived early (check-in is at 3pm). They were not able to accommodate an early arrival, and did not have rooms available right at 3pm. We had to wait about 30 minutes for the room to be available. The room was clean, and the staff were helpful. The pool was well-kept and my kids enjoyed swimming. The breakfast was free and of good variety. My husband did not like the bed ("killed my back"). It was a good stay for an overnighter on our way to our final destination.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    47
    15
    9
    6
See reviews for
84
39
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is easy to get to. Although our room was not ready when we checked in (after 3PM) it was within 15 minutes. The desk clerks were pleasant. We stayed in a king suite which was roomy but the bed definitely has seen better days. I used the exercise room and the bike seat does not lock in place which should be an easy fix. Breakfast was good...a very wide selection of items.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear BeachTraveler,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are very happy you chose us for your hotel needs. Thank you for mentioning your bed, and the exercise room. We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied. We will pass this valuable feedback on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock, illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed one night. The beds were comfy, room was clean. Nice hotel, the pool and hot tub were great at the end of a long day. Breakfast was great, the lady (I think her name was Christine) did a great job keeping everything stocked and fresh. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Bren,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. Thank you for mentioning the pool, and the breakfast service. We are so glad you enjoyed those things. We will pass your great comments about Christine on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

All I can say is everything, and I mean everything about our stay here was absolutely perfect. And it was an easy in and out from the hotel to and from the interstate. Several good restaurants nearby too, and Salem has a nice downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear James,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer. Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel in Covington, VA was the closest thing to "home". It was clean, updated, safe & comfortable. It smelled fresh too. Highly recommend to others traveling to this area. It was a few dollars more than place a couple doors down but worth every penny for the overall quality

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Emily,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are so glad that you said that we are the closet thing to home. We are so glad that you were comfortable and that you felt safe. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanoka Harbor, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Found the room to be comfortable, smelled and looked clean. Plenty of towels, nice Bath and Body Works toiletries in room. Free wifi and breakfast. Fresh coffee and hot water for tea available at night in lobby. Outdoor pool area was nice. Hotel staff were friendly. Ask for a room facing the mountains in the back. Saved $$ using the VA travel coupon we picked up at the VA welcome center. No complaints. Would stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear 1BeachBumNJ,

Thank you for telling us about your visit. We are so glad that you enjoyed what the hotel has to offer. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hoe that you will visit with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Last night we were in the holiday inn express in lavonia, GA and it was superb. Therefore, I am comparing this one. The lighting is not adequate here, less conveniently placed plugs, and no comfy tv chair. There wasn't complimentary evening beer, wine, cheese, crackers and salsa either. But there are warm chocolate cookies. Other than that no complaints. Staff friendly, responsive and bedding relatively new and comfy. Must have been newly remodeled or maybe it is new. The price was a good deal using the coupon book we picked up at the Virginia visitor center.
Have to be a walk in and rooms have to be available.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear travelismypassion,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the lighting, plugins, and the need for more of a reception. We really value all guest feedback. It allows us to make changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.