We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean & well maintained” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super clean & well maintained”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel in Covington, VA was the closest thing to "home". It was clean, updated, safe & comfortable. It smelled fresh too. Highly recommend to others traveling to this area. It was a few dollars more than place a couple doors down but worth every penny for the overall quality

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Emily,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are so glad that you said that we are the closet thing to home. We are so glad that you were comfortable and that you felt safe. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    55
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
88
43
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lanoka Harbor, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Found the room to be comfortable, smelled and looked clean. Plenty of towels, nice Bath and Body Works toiletries in room. Free wifi and breakfast. Fresh coffee and hot water for tea available at night in lobby. Outdoor pool area was nice. Hotel staff were friendly. Ask for a room facing the mountains in the back. Saved $$ using the VA travel coupon we picked up at the VA welcome center. No complaints. Would stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear 1BeachBumNJ,

Thank you for telling us about your visit. We are so glad that you enjoyed what the hotel has to offer. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hoe that you will visit with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Last night we were in the holiday inn express in lavonia, GA and it was superb. Therefore, I am comparing this one. The lighting is not adequate here, less conveniently placed plugs, and no comfy tv chair. There wasn't complimentary evening beer, wine, cheese, crackers and salsa either. But there are warm chocolate cookies. Other than that no complaints. Staff friendly, responsive and bedding relatively new and comfy. Must have been newly remodeled or maybe it is new. The price was a good deal using the coupon book we picked up at the Virginia visitor center.
Have to be a walk in and rooms have to be available.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear travelismypassion,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the lighting, plugins, and the need for more of a reception. We really value all guest feedback. It allows us to make changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very clean, comfortable beds, nice pool, nice front desk staff. Only a minor annoyance with the rates different at check-in that what we had booked on the internet (at the ihg website). But fixed at check-out with a more knowledgable staff member.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear ES,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so sorry for the booking issue that you incurred. We are glad that we could get it straightened out for you. We are so glad that you and your family chose us. We will pass this feedback on to them. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were driving through Virginia and the weather was so bad that we had to get off the highway. We went to the Holiday Inn hoping to get a room. It was totally full as it was Virginia Tech graduation that weekend. The women behind the desk were WONDERFUL. They called around and went on line until they found another place for us to stay. I can't thank them enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Shrink516,

Thank you for telling us about your experience with the front desk staff. We are so glad that we could get you on your way. Thank you for writing about this experience. We do however hope that you will be able to stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridge, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Rooms good except that they turned our room keys off after 1 night for a 2 night stay - annoying when you get back to hotel late. Messaging system flaky. Service could have been better. Nothing really wrong but nothing really outstanding either.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Yetanotherroadtrip,

Thank you for your recent stay and for posting a candid review. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with your room key. We appreciate all your feedback as this is our best resource for improvement. Once again, thank you for staying and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent one night here on our way to Pennsylvania and were pleased with the accommodations. The hotel has very easy access to and from I-81. Our room was probably a bit smaller than usual for a "suites" hotel but it was clean, comfortable, and very quiet. The room AC worked very well. Staff was friendly and breakfast was the usual fare, which is to say we enjoyed it, although the coffee seemed a bit weaker than we usually experience at a Holiday Inn. There are no restaurants near the hotel and one has to drive a few miles into Salem (or Roanoke) to find a place to eat. The exercise room had 3 machines: treadmill, recumbent bicycle, and an elliptical. The TV worked in the exercise room and there were towels and alcohol wipes to sanitize the machines after exercise. All-in-all, small but very nicely done. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.