We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stopped at HIE Salem, Va and planned to stay one night. The bad weather made us rethink and stay a second night. Super friendly staff, very clean rooms and great breakfast. Would stay there again when passing through. Plus a gas station, mini mart and burger king all in one, within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear 816usaf,

Thank you for telling us about your visit. We are so glad that you chose to stay a second night. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing good comments about their service. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    60
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
96
45
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stopped here after driving for several hours, and were thrilled with it! The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating; our room was spacious, very clean, and very comfortable; the breakfast was great. What more could we ask for?!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear weemurree,


Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean , safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson, Tennessee
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stopped here last night and got a king size suite without reservations. They accepted a AAA discount and the price was quite reasonable. The suite was HUGE! I mean, it was big. I've stayed in larger suites around the country, but usually for a lot more money. Great TV, big bed, nice bathroom, lots of chairs, wifi. The bed, however, was very hard and I have a difficult time with hard beds, so I woke up with a backache. My wife enjoyed it, however. They also have a huge breakfast. It was really very nice. I was shocked to get pancakes out of a machine and they were delicious. They had much more than your average hotel's continental breakfast and there was ample seating, which was nice. Overall, we had an excellent experience and would be quite happy to stay there again next time we're on the road that way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Scott,

Thank you so much for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you and your wife stayed with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you may consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I recently stayed here with two teenagers. I had reserved standard 2 Q room, they gave us a larger room with a sitting area and pull out couch, and a small kitchen area. The boys appreciated that they didn't have to sleep in the same bed. The bathroom was clean, the bedding was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was average, no complaints.

The only thing I was unhappy with was the carpet in my room. It was visibly in need of a shampoo.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear dbjmp,

Thank you for telling us about our visit with us. We hope you and your sons enjoyed your time in Salem. We strive to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your feedback. We will pass it on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on April 7, 2014. We were assigned room 115. While I was in the fitness room, a man entered our room while my wife was laying down. She was obviously frightened. He said he was assigned room 115. When I returned to the room, my room key wouldn't work and my wife didn't answer my knocks. I went to the front desk only to find my wife there. She was told we had been "transferred" to room 315, although we had never been told, nor did we ever physically move. We knew nothing about being "transferred"--it was just on paper. My wife was given new keys to room 115. In the morning, we got our bill but it had a different name on it, but our address and credit card. We went to the front desk in an attempt to straighten it out but it just got worse. We were told we were in room 315. I was assured that everything would be corrected, however today I noticed on my credit card three separate charges to Holiday Inn Express. I called the hotel but was placed on indefinite hold. I might also mention that although the hotel bills itself as "new", the heat didn't work, the refrigerator didn't work (later found to be unplugged behind the TV), the ice machine was missing a grate, and the pancake machine didn't work. I found the staff to be fairly arrogant and apathetic. I could never recommend this place to anyone

Room Tip: I just wouldn't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear george j,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here with reservations to rest to split our long trip in half. The staff was nice, and they had chocolate chip cookies if we wanted any in the eating area. There was also a basket of fruit. The rooms were clean. We actually ended up by the elevator. I didn't click on preference for location. Being by the elevator was not bad, because at that time it wasn't much traffic. In the morning time is when it gets busy, but by then I was checking out the breakfast. They had pancakes, cereal, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, toast, bagels, muffins, juice, milk, cinnamon rolls, bacon, and sausage. I may have missed something, but you get the point.

Room Tip: Although when I was staying it wasn't a problem, but choose a room away from the elevator. I kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Pocahontas04,

Thank you so much for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed the amenities that the hotel has to offer. We will pass this great feedback on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

On a trip to Charlotte from Maryland, we stopped at this hotel overnight to rest. The hotel was excellent and the complimentary breakfast was outstanding. There was a young lady who worked in the breakfast area that was just so hospitable that it made our overnight stay that much better. We stayed there on Thursday Night of March 20th. When we come again, we will shortly use this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Ronniestew,

Thank you so much for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We are always trying to find ways to make this service better. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.