We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Salem
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here with reservations to rest to split our long trip in half. The staff was nice, and they had chocolate chip cookies if we wanted any in the eating area. There was also a basket of fruit. The rooms were clean. We actually ended up by the elevator. I didn't click on preference for location. Being by the elevator was not bad, because at that time it wasn't much traffic. In the morning time is when it gets busy, but by then I was checking out the breakfast. They had pancakes, cereal, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, toast, bagels, muffins, juice, milk, cinnamon rolls, bacon, and sausage. I may have missed something, but you get the point.

Room Tip: Although when I was staying it wasn't a problem, but choose a room away from the elevator. I kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Pocahontas04,

Thank you so much for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed the amenities that the hotel has to offer. We will pass this great feedback on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    46
    15
    9
    6
See reviews for
82
38
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

On a trip to Charlotte from Maryland, we stopped at this hotel overnight to rest. The hotel was excellent and the complimentary breakfast was outstanding. There was a young lady who worked in the breakfast area that was just so hospitable that it made our overnight stay that much better. We stayed there on Thursday Night of March 20th. When we come again, we will shortly use this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Ronniestew,

Thank you so much for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We are always trying to find ways to make this service better. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and it was a very good experience. The staff was friendly and the hotel was very clean and quiet. The breakfast area was large and well-cared for. The breakfast buffet was the usual HIE and was kept well supplied. I definitely recommend staying here,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Tammy,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We hope that you and your family enjoyed Salem. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stopped without reservations late at night and the Staff was friendly and efficient. Rooms were very comfortable and very clean. Staff let us borrow a snow scraper from her car the next morning. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Hayeskm,

Thank you for telling us about your visit. We are so glad that we could accommodate you during stay in Salem. We are so glad that you chose us. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape may nj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I purchased this room for my son and his family after hitting a bad snow storm. This hotel was very close to route 81 in salem virginia. They unfortunately didn't have enough money to purchase this room. I called and booked the room over the phone and the staff was very helpful and allowed me to book the room without having to actually show them the credit card. My son and his fiance were extremely happy with the hotel and were able to enjoy a nice breakfast before getting back on the road. They also helped my husband and I have peace of mind knowing they were out of the of the bad weather and off the roads until it was safe. Kudos to the Holiday inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear lisacape,

Thank you so much for telling us about your family's stay. We are so glad that we could help them out during the snow storm. We are so glad that we could be there for you, and your family. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We hope that you may consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I'm late writing this review, but better late than never! I wanted to make sure I gave this place all the kudos they deserved. My friend and I were in town for the UNC at VTech football game in October 2013. We had never been to the area before and were so late making plans for the game that there were hardly any choices of hotels left! I had stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before and found the beds to be so comfortable, so when this hotel was offered as a choice when I did an online search, I quickly scooped it up and hoped for the best.

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by the front desk staff. I made sure to explain that I did not intend to use the same credit card to pay for the room that I did to reserve the room. I asked them to notate this on my account and also explained that my friend and I were splitting the bill. She assured me my card would not be charged for the whole amount. I admit I had my doubts.

The hotel is conveniently located right off a main road, with a convenient store within walking distance for late-night snacks or to fill up with gas before you head on the road. It's not too far from VT, but far enough away that you don't feel like you're stuck in the middle of traffic and game people. We easily made our way to the Marketplace Square for dinner on both nights with just a short drive. Housekeeping was so nice through our stay, respecting our "Do Not Disturb" sign when it was out, but also promptly cleaning our room when it was not.

I was amazed by the selection of the free breakfast! We came down both mornings to find biscuits and gravy (DELICIOUS!), pancakes, an assortment of rolls and bread, cereals and oatmeals, bacon, sausage, almost any breakfast food you could imagine. And it was free! The young lady who was making all the food was very nice, but I did feel bad for her because there were so many of us scooping up the food faster than she could put it out. They could probably use one more person assisting at breakfast on busy weekends so one person isn't overwhelmed.

On our checkout day, they slipped the receipt under the door as hotels typically do. I was impressed to see that someone actually paid attention to the notation on my account regarding payment! My card was only charged for one night and the remaining balance was the amount my friend would later pay as we departed for back home. I can't tell you how many Marriott hotels I've stayed at that do not listen to anything you say at check-in and charge your card for the whole amount, later having to credit it back and it's just a big mess. This just added to my satisfaction with this hotel.

Overall, this hotel is probably one of Salem's best-kept secrets and the mountain view rooms make it perfect for a weekend escape, even when there's no football game.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose a mountain view room so you can enjoy the sunrise and sunset over the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear CarolinaBlue08,

Thank you so much for your feedback about the hotel. We really appreciate all of your feedback. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the billing. We find it very important at the hotel to make sure we tend to the needs of the guest. Details are very important in our eyes. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will choose us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Salem, VA Holiday Inn is very convenient to the area highways. There are also a couple restaurants nearby. The hotel room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good, typical for a Holiday Inn Express. My rooms heat-A/C unit did fluctuate throughout the night, but that's a typical hotel problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear EB0320,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the heating/cooling in the room. We will make sure we pass this feedback on to our staff. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.