We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canada & USA Tour 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Canada & USA Tour 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great stop after exploring Shenandoah National Park in the Blue Ridge Mountains, where we were once again treated to a close up of a black bear. We also went to the Natural Bridge with spectacular riverside scenery and wildlife with a very interesting recreated Native American village.
This hotel was a perfect stop, lovely breakfast, lovely room, great facilities all round. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear lizziemartie,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your feedback about the hotel. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Salem. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    68
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
105
52
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitesboro, New York, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Pigeon Forge, TN. Was very easy to get here off 1-81. Comfortable beds, but small pillows ( but we brought extra pillows) Breakfast buffet was clean and enough for our family. Restaurants within a short drive (5-10min).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us.We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us Thank you for mentioning our breakfast service. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A nice comfortable place to stay overnight or for a week long trip. Hotel has a lounge to relax at, and the rooms are well apointed. Hotel is immediatly off the freeway exit, so it is easy to get to. Close to many places to eat as well. I would stay at again.

Room Tip: Just ask for their best rate, and they will work with you on price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Jason P,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you stayed with us, and that we could accommodate you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope you enjoyed your time in the area. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thanks for staying with us, and we hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel, it is a fairly new establishment and it was convenient, just off I81. The rooms were clean and well appointed, The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was more than adequate. We will definitely return to this hotel for future visits to the area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear richiepug,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you stayed with us and that we could accommodate you. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Salem. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were travelling from North Carolina to Pennsylvania and the location of this hotel worked for our overnight stop. The hotel is easy to find from I-81.

The clerk at the hotel was not welcoming and did not provide any information other than "here are your keys". We put our kids to bed and found out that there is an access code required to get on the wireless in this hotel. I went down to the front desk for the access code and had to wait for the clerk to finish reading a page of her book before she looked up. When I asked for the access code she pointed to 7 unlabeled numbers on my key card envelope and went back to her book.

The room was not very clean. Breakfast was free and worth every penny. Parking was not well lit.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone wanting anything more than a place to sleep for a few hours.

Room Tip: You will not want to stick around so just pick the cheapest room that meets your needs. None of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear b0ch,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

thank you Holiday Inn Express! After staying in so so large chain hotels while traveling with hard beds it was such luxury to stay at this new Holiday Inn Express on the way back home to the VA coast. Situated off VA I-81 with views of the mountains out our window, I found the stay a respite from previous accommodations. the room had restful bedding with upgraded "choice" pillows, nice linens and down mattress covers. Even the brand of " in room" coffee for this coffee lover had great taste. The breakfast room was very pleasantly decorated and loads of choices and offerings even though I am usually a oatmeal and yogurt eater in the mornings. The staff was friendly and professional. Sorry to get up early to leave the next morning.

Room Tip: back side facing the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear VAbeachgal.

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback regarding the hotel. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Salem. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing about their service. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, RI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The room was worn and dirty. The breakfast was horrible. The pancake maker was broke. The wifi barely worked and usually got hung up. The front desk was guarding the password for the wifi like it was an ATM pin. The staff was unpleasant, everyone was calling the front desk staff cranky 1 and cranky 2 . They were telling everyone the pool closed at 9 pm and the sign at the pool said it closed at 10 pm. As a rewards member we have always received a welcome bag with a water and a snack, not here! I will say that they were completely sold out the night we stayed but it was no excuse for the lack of service.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear nowzer,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. We appreciate you taking time to help us to continually improve our guests experience.

I am truly sorry for the challenges you had during your stay. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with your room and breakfast and regret the inconvenience our level of service has caused you. This is definitely not up to our standards, as such, your comments will be looked into and will be used to consider updates where possible.

Your comments are very important to us as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Salem
Comfort Suites Salem
#4 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Roanoke/Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salem
Hampton Inn Salem
#1 of 14 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Salem
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.