We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff and Facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Virginia Beach, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff and Facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while taking may daughter to a function at Roanoke College - very close to campus. The greeting at the front desk was the extremely welcoming and efficient. The clerk gave us a welcome bag with bottled water and crackers - an unexpected and welcome gesture. The room was spotless and beds comfortable. The free breakfast was better than most hotels' free continental breakfasts complete with bacon, scrambled eggs, and a cool machine that made fresh pancakes on demand! What impressed me most was the breakfast attendant. I came in with a cooler from my car to get some ice. She noticed and, without me asking, met me at the ice machine upstairs with an ice bucket to get ice in my cooler because it was too big to fit under the ice maker. Very attentive service. This Inn is excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Celtic 4,

Thank you for telling us about your recent trip. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your daughter. We hope you enjoyed your time in Salem/Roanoke. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Expres Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    48
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
84
39
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Nice, clean hotel with very friendly front desk and cleaning staff. Convenient to I-81 - delicious hot and cold breakfast - high speed internet - fitness center and great cookies in the evening. Everything we expected and more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear mygardenhome,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Exceptional, eclectic decor, very inviting, quality staff were very accomodating, helpful, & polite. Room are again, great decor, spacious & very clean, pillow top mattress a little thin though. breakfast above average. All Holiday inns are not created equal!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Plumzz2,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Salem. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I spent one night at this Holiday Inn Express on a recent business trip. Convienently located just off exit 141 in Salem, Virginia, the hotel is a short drive to all of the Salem/Roanke area. The room was modern, clean and comfortable. The queen size bed was just about the right firmness that I need for a good nights sleep. The location is quiet and has good views of the surrounding mountains. Convienent to many restaurants, gas stations and shopping. Staff was very freindly and accommodating. Free high speed internet access, good breakfast, outdoor pool, fitness facility.

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor for a great view of the surrounding mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Gregory C,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you during yoru business trip. Our business travelers are very important to us. We value your feedback. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

No major change since my initial review. Very accommodating staff, nice rooms, good breakfast, and quiet. Can't ask for more. Area with restaurants and shopping is 5-10 minutes away depending on what you want.

Room Tip: Try for front side, away from interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear James R,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. We really appreciate our repeat guests. Thank you for choosing us again. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was an OK hotel to stay. Goods: The hotel was in good shape, clean and well maintained. The location was convenient, close to highway and gas station. Free internet access was good. The views were beautiful. The cleaning staff was very friendly. Note: only the cleaning staff, not the front desk staff. When I checked in, she was clearly not in a good mood.
Complains: The main thing was noise. The hotel rooms seemed to be poorly constructed, the walls were not sound proof at all. I could hear next door's 'R-rated' conversation late at night. Also heard people in the hallway all night and early morning. Did not get a good rest due to the noise level.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear MaxCat888,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns about the hotel. We will pass these comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This property is in love with color. (I'm okay with or without it.) It gives the hotel an "art-sie" feel. I guess it's the new IN thing? Not bad at all. The place looks fresh throughout. The breakfast fare was awesome! I did not expect this from HIE. Don't sleep on the fresh baked cookies in the evening. My room was great. The staff was very professional. I was acknowledged as a club member upon check-in and presented with a gift bag. I requested and received a late check-out as well.

The fitness center was more than adequate. I only wish the pool was indoors. Overall, I had a great stay. If I'm in the area again, I plan to stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We will pass these comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We are so glad that we could accommodate you during your business trip. Our business travelers are very important to us. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.