We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views quaint town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice views quaint town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just off I-81. Friendly receptionist, very helpful and got a great room overlooking the Blue Ridge mountains. Very helpful directing us into downtown Salem. Found a great restaurant and a very nice little park with thousands of ducks. The room was clean, affordable and very quiet. Breakfast was excellent. The young lady running the breakfast bar was very helpful and hard working. The back patio offers great views. Spacious lounge to just unwind in the evening after a long drive from Philadelphia. Staff even offered to carry our luggage for us due to backorder of rolling carts. Children from previous weeks had destroyed 2 carts playing skateboard with them. What a great bunch of folks. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back of hotel. Views are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Jennifer G,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. l we appreciate all of your comments, and will pass them on to our staff. Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We strive as hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your stay. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    48
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
84
39
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Let me preface this with I am a clean-freak and I get a little anxious about staying in hotels. Our family - 2 adults, 3 kids (11, 8, 6) stayed here 3 nights while visiting friends in Roanoke. This was one of few hotels that could accomodate a family of 5.

The room was clean - I even went around and checked areas that tend to be left unkept. Bathroom was clean and shiny. The small frig was more than enough to hold water bottles and leftovers. he microwave worked well. We enjoy having a kitchentte with kids to accomodate. The lighting was a little dimmer than I would have preferred, but nothing to break the stay. Our room was located directly across from the "fitness room" and th hall to the pool. We were a little concerned about noise b/c of this. There was NO problem. In fact, the location was a benenfit when the kids were finished in the pool, they could run right to the room. We had a pull-out sofa that our 2 boys slept on and loved and 2 double beds. The beds were very comfortable. As far as double beds - I know some people do not like them, my husband and I are relatively small people and we don't mind the double.

We loved using the pool and hot tub! We did find 2 water spiders in the pool, but we just used the brush and fished them out. We had fun night swimming and the view of the mountains from the pool area was fabulous.

The continental breakfast was MUCH more than continental. We had eggs, sausage, and biscuits. The kids loved the cereals and cinnamon buns. There were small containers of yogurt, milk, and juice. The coffee was good (I am a coffe snob). I enjoyed my coffee each morning. The staff was actively checking an replenishing items during the hours breakfast was served. Our kids LOVED the experience of choosing their breakfast items from the buffet.

If it were just DH and me, I would prefer more luxury, but for a trip with the kids, tis was just right. If you are traveling as a family for a stop over in the area or a short visit, this is a great hotel! Clean, pleasant staff, good locale for Roanoke and Salem, good price for all you get.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floor in the back have a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Trae69,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you stayed with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We strive as hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We appreciate all of your thoughts and will pass them on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hotels in Virginia are just different than hotels in many other parts of the country. Very few seem to have much size to them, and even fewer have multiple beds that are larger than doubles. So when you travel with a family, getting two queen beds is a real challenge. The Holiday Inn Express was one that met those requirements, so thumbs up there.

The location also worked out on our trip, which is a good thing, and the staff was friendly as well. The colors were a bit odd, but that is not really their fault - many of these quick-serve hotels are going to this strange palette these days.

Right off the freeway is typically a good spot for a hotel, and this is no exception - the only bad part is that they are located right next to a machinery supply plant of some sort. Not a lot of noise or anything, just a strange location, and when traveling you don't always want to leave things in that sort of spot. We had no problems, it was just different than the downtown area not far away is all.

Though some have reported problems with their rooms or cleanliness, we had no issues at all - great first night on our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear jayseae,

Thanks for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you stayed with us and that you could accommodate you. We appreciate all of your comments and we will pass them on to our staff. Thank you for your concerns about the plant next door. We assure you that our guest safety is our number one priority at the hotel. However thank you for bringing that to our attention. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to the hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

After several short vacations and countless Fastpitch tournament weekends this summer, I have just found my favorite hotel of the entire season! This brand new property is nicely decorated, impeccably clean, and roomy enough for the whole family to spread out. We had a king leisure room which offered a king bed and pullout couch, with LOTS of space to spare.

The most ingenious design in the whole room is the shelving set into the bathroom wall where every member of the family can stash their toiletries, leaving the counter free and clear.

Although the hotel has only three stories, it boasts the largest breakfast room I have ever experienced, and it doesn't double as the lobby either!

We will definitely be back when softball tournaments bring us to the area!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear LyndaWV,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. Thank you for all the comments. We will pass them on to our staff. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to the hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veryblueberry
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights. At check-in I asked about the maps and other items/information that came with the adventure package we had booked with our room. The woman at the desk had no idea what I was talking about even though on my printed confirmation it showed Salem Adventure Package listed under rate type and then a detailed description of what was included. After she admitted she had no idea what it was she then made no effort find out, telling me she was sorry but she didn't know what it was again. So after paying for the Adventure Package in my room rate I ended up with nothing.
The room was very clean. After one miserable nights sleep I realized our mattresses were wrapped in plastic bags. There was a mattress pad under the bottom sheet, but it was as thin as the sheet itself. The plastic bag on the mattress made it very hot. We were also disappointed to find out the television service was out for our entire stay. We will be traveling to Salem several times over the next year but will stay elsewhere. Holiday Inn Express is our usual place where ever we go, but we will skip this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel was clean, comfortable and well appointed - the choices and quality of the breakfast offerings were terrific - waffles, cereal, sausage, eggs, biscuits, toast, bagels, fruit - and more. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Donaldmay4,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel and the breakfast. We are so glad that you enjoyed this service. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Spent a night at this Holiday Inn Express when travel plans changed at the last moment. Found the hotel to be very clean, well maintained and quite comfortable. It was nice to stay at a hotel where the building's workmanship was evident down to the bathroom tile work at floor level. I would recommend this location for other travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear John W,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We are so glad that you stayed with us and we hope if you return to the area again, that you will stay with us.

Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem

Address: 991 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the heart of Blue Ridge is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, VA! We are conveniently located to I-81 at exit 141, just a short drive to following area attractions : Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, & James Moyer Complex. With our world class service and many Salem/Roanoke businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance or minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Roanoke Valley! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, 37 flat panel LCD TV and free local calls. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Points of Interest: Companies: General Electric, Carter Machinery, & Medeco. Hospitals: Lewis Gale Hospital, & Veterans Affairs Hospital. Universities: Roanoke College, Virginia Tech, Hollins University & Radford University. Local Attractions: Taubman Museum of Art, Virginia Museum of Transportation, & Dixie Caverns. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salem Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.